Newswire | Canadian Bryan Cheng Makes Semi-Finals of 2022 Queen Elisabeth Competition in Cello

Advertisement / Publicité

2022 Cello Competition : the semi-final

Studio 4, Flagey

From Monday 16 to Saturday 21 May, sessions at 3pm and 8pm

And the 24 semi-finalists are :

Riana Anthony, James Baik, Yibai Chen, Bryan Cheng, Hayoung Choi, Jeremias Fliedl, Anouchka  Hack, Constantin Heise, Stéphanie Huang, Woochan Jeong, Min Ji Kim, Marcel Johannes  Kits, Keisuke Morita, Taeguk Mun, Samuel Niederhauser, Petar Pejcic, Erica Piccotti, Florian Pons, Ivan Sendetskiy, Oleksiy Shadrin, Anton Spronk, Simon Tetzlaff, Ella van Poucke, Sul Yoon.

Advertisement / Publicité

More information about the semi-finalists

Programme of the semi-final

At each session, which consists of two parts, four different semi-finalists will perform.

–    The first two perform one of the two concertos for cello by Joseph Haydn with the Orchestre Royal de Chambre de Wallonie, conducted by Vahan Mardirossion.

–    After the break, the other two perform their recitals, with piano accompaniment. The jury will choose one of two recital programmes proposed by the candidate, each including works of the candidate’s choice (containing a sonata for cello and piano) and the compulsory unpublished work written especially for this year’s edition by Daan Janssens. The choice of recital made by the jury is communicated to the candidate the day before his performance. Afterwards, we will indicate the recital chosen on the press page and in the semi-final calendar.

Schedule of the semi-final (pdf) / Calendar with programme of the semi-finalists

Imposed work

Wie aus der Ferne by Daan

The candidates have received the score of the imposed work upon the final acceptance of their application file. Wie aus der Ferne will be premiered on Monday 16 May at 3 p.m. at Studio 4 in Flagey and will be performed by the 24 semi-finalists during their recital. The composer will be regularly present during the semi-final and will be available for interviews.

Consult the score on Issuu.


Thanks to the RTBF, the VRT and Proximus the performances are broadcast live and on demand on our website, and on Belgian national radio and television.

You can follow the proclamation of the finalists live on our website, on Saturday 21 May around midnight.  

List of broadcasts (pdf)

Jury members

While the composition of the jury may vary from one round to another, the members of the jury attend the whole of the round that they have been appointed to judge. In the semi-final, the members are : Gilles Ledure (Chairman), Myung-Wha Chung, Natalie Clein, Roel Dieltiens, Anne Gastinel, Marie Hallynck, Frans Helmerson,  Anssi Karttunen, Antonio Meneses, Sharon Robinson and Jian Wang.  


About Author

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.