Governor General Announces 113 New Appointments to the Order of Canada


This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: Francais (French)

30 June 2016 — His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, announced today 113 new appointments to the Order of Canada. The new appointees include 1 Companion (C.C.), 27 Officers (O.C.) and 85 Members (C.M.). These appointments were made on the recommendation of the Advisory Council for the Order of Canada.

Recipients will be invited to accept their insignia at a ceremony to be held at a later date.

Advertisement / Publicité

The Order of Canada, one of our country’s highest civilian honours, was established in 1967, during Canada’s centennial year, to recognize outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. Over the last 49 years, more than 6 500 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order.

The list of recipients, with short citations, and a backgrounder on the Order of Canada are attached. Follow this link for more information on the Canadian Honours System.



Gregory Charles, O.C.
Westmount, Quebec

For his infectious energy, creativity and dedication to ensuring that the performing arts and culture thrive in Canada and abroad.


Jacques Godbout, O.C., C.Q.
Montréal, Quebec

For his significant contributions to the literary arts and critical thinking for over half a century.


Piers Guy Paton Handling, O.C., O.Ont.
Toronto, Ontario

For his success in transforming the Toronto International Film Festival into a fixture of world and Canadian film.


Abraham Anghik Ruben, O.C.
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia

For his artistic contributions as a sculptor and for his preservation of our northern heritage and national identity.



Joseph Georges Arsenault, C.M., O.P.E.I.
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

For his contributions to the research, conservation and promotion of Prince Edward Island’s Acadian history, culture and traditions.


Salah John Bachir, C.M.
Toronto, Ontario

For his leadership as an entrepreneur and for his commitment to the arts and to social justice, notably through Toronto’s The 519 community centre.


Gregory S. Belton, C.M., C.V.O.
Toronto, Ontario

For his active support and promotion of youth development programs, particularly through the Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award, and for his philanthropic generosity in the fields of youth services and the arts.


Timothy Borlase, C.M., O.N.L.
Pointe-du-Chêne, New Brunswick and Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador

For his contributions to arts, music and drama initiatives, particularly for youth, in communities across Labrador and New Brunswick.


Patricia Demers, C.M.
Edmonton, Alberta

For her insightful contributions to the study of early works of English literature, and for her service to the academic community.


Serge Denoncourt, C.M.
Montréal, Quebec

For his achievements and dynamic presence on the theatre scene and for his significant mentorship in the arts.


Charlotte Diamond, C.M.
Richmond, British Columbia

For her contributions as a children’s entertainer who, through song and music, helps to develop creativity and self-expression in youth.


Rupert James Duchesne, C.M.
Toronto, Ontario

For his innovations in loyalty management, which have propelled his firm to the global forefront, and for his dedication to a variety of causes, including the arts and health care.


Yvon Ethier, C.M.
Terrebonne, Quebec

For his contributions to Quebec’s country music scene as Patrick Norman, and for his dedication to numerous charitable causes.


Gerald Richard Fagan, C.M., O.Ont.
London, Ontario

For his contributions to the advancement of choral music in Canada as a conductor and educator.


Ned Goodman, C.M.
Toronto, Ontario

For his contributions to Canada’s investment industry and for his philanthropic support for higher education, culture and health care.


Paul John Perry Guloien, C.M.
Edmonton, Alberta

For his contributions to Canada’s musical repertoire as an accomplished jazz saxophonist.


Barbara Hannigan, C.M.
Waverley, Nova Scotia and Amsterdam, Netherlands

For her achievements as an internationally renowned opera singer and cultural ambassador for Canada.


Diane Juster, C.M.
Montréal, Quebec

For her brilliant career as a musician and for her dedication for over 40 years to ensuring copyright protection for artists across Canada.


Eli Kassner, C.M.
Toronto, Ontario

For advancing classical guitar in Canada as a musician, pedagogue, mentor and co-founder of the Guitar Society of Toronto.


Elaine Keillor, C.M.
Ottawa, Ontario

For her contributions as a musicologist and historian of Canada’s musical heritage.


Laurier Lacroix, C.M.
Montréal, Quebec

For his contributions as an art historian, and for his efforts to promote the artistic heritage of Quebec and Canada.


Gail Dexter Lord, C.M.
Toronto, Ontario

For her contributions to museum planning and management and for her work in supporting the cultural sector in Canada and abroad.


Bruce MacKinnon, C.M., O.N.S.
Halifax, Nova Scotia

For his contributions as one of Canada’s most skilled, empathetic and provocative editorial cartoonists.


Don McKellar, C.M.
Toronto, Ontario

For his contributions to Canadian culture as an actor, writer and director.


Linda E. McKnight, C.M.
Toronto, Ontario

For her pioneering achievements in publishing and for her unstinting support of Canadian writers.


Emily Molnar, C.M.
Vancouver, British Columbia

For her creative contributions as a ballet dancer and choreographer, and for her leadership as the artistic director of Ballet BC.


Robert J. Sawyer, C.M.
Toronto, Ontario

For his accomplishments as a science fiction writer and mentor, and for his contributions as a futurist.


Ilkay Silk, C.M.
Fredericton, New Brunswick

For her contributions to arts and culture organizations in New Brunswick, particularly for her work with youth in theatre.

This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: Francais (French)


About Author

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.