NAC Orchestra-Kawasaki Performs Koprowski

Advertisement / Publicité

This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: English (Anglais)

Advertisement / Publicité
Chargement de la carte ....

Date(s) - 25/03/2020

National Arts Centre - Southam Hall



  • Performance
  • Classification de l'ensemble/soliste

    • Musique de chambre
    • Opéra
    • Artistes de l'évènement
      NAC Orchestra, John Stogards, Yosuke Kawasaki


      Site Web de l'évènement

      Page Facebook de l'évènement

      Numéro de téléphone

      Revere the old and celebrate the new, beginning with Haydn’s high-spirited Symphony No. 100, nicknamed the “Military” because of its exuberant fanfares that evoke parades filled with pageantry and colour.

      The NAC Orchestra asked composer Peter Paul Koprowski to write his Violin Concerto especially for esteemed concertmaster Yosuke Kawasaki, who has held the chair since 2007. Koprowski is a Polish-Canadian JUNO nominee and recipient of the NAC’s Award for Canadian Composers.

      Most of us start playing our instruments before we even know what music or art means to us. At the time when I realized that the music I was playing had an emotional impact on me, I also became aware that I was mostly recreating sounds of compositions from the past. Nothing that I was playing was new.  I wasn’t really part of a true creative process as all artists should experience. In this world premier of Peter Paul Koprowski’s violin concerto he is the real creator, but think of me as his tool to bring his composition alive as the violin is a tool for me to bring my voice to you the audience. Maybe I can finally crossover from a violinist to an artist! – Yosuke Kawasaki

      Danish composer Carl Nielsen found the inspiration for his Symphony No. 2, nicknamed “The Four Temperaments,” in a comical picture he saw on the wall of a room where he was having a beer with his wife. Though the picture depicting the four temperaments – choleric, phlegmatic, melancholic, and sanguine – initially amused him, the seed was planted for his treasured Symphony No. 2. This evening the NAC Orchestra performs a Nielsen symphony for the very first time under the baton of guest conductor John Storgårds, a master interpreter of Nielsen’s majestic and lyrical works.

      This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: English (Anglais)


      A propos de l'auteur

      Laissez une réponse

      Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.