Évènements à venir

0

03/08/2021 @ 10:00 – 11:00 – Reconnu pour sa virtuosité et sa musicalité, le violoniste canadien James Ehnes est un favori du public dans le monde entier. Joignez-vous à James et Eric Friesen dans cette édition exclusive de Chamber Chat : Édition festival, offerte aux des détenteurs de laissez-passer en direct du festival. Le public se souviendra des magnifiques représentations de […]

0

30/07/2021 @ 10:00 – 11:00 – Le Quatuor Danel est à l’avant-garde de la scène musicale internationale depuis 1991. Célèbre pour ses interprétations audacieuses et concentrées des cycles de quatuor à cordes de Haydn, Beethoven, Schubert, Chostakovitch et Weinberg, le Quatuor Danel est un favori de longue date des fans du Chamberfest. Joignez-vous à eux lors de leur conversation avec Eric […]

0

28/07/2021 @ 10:00 – 11:00 – Infusion Baroque a envoûté le public avec une programmation créative et interactive à travers l’Amérique du Nord. Joignez-vous à l’animateur Eric Friesen et aux quatre femmes d’Infusion Baroque dans une conversation centrée sur leurs nombreux projets créatifs, dont « Qui a tué Leclair ? » (une soirée interactive meurtre et mystère basée sur le meurtre […]

0

26/07/2021 @ 10:00 – 11:00 – L’une des 30 musiciens classiques de moins de 30 ans en 2020 (CBC Music) les plus reconnus, le public d’Ottawa a été initié à la soprano, vedette montante, Jonelle Sills à ses débuts à l’OCNA en 2020. Apprenez-en plus sur le parcours artistique de Jonelle dans cette édition exclusive de Chamber Chat : Édition festival, […]

0

23/07/2021 @ 10:00 – 11:00 – Alpers est un favori du public du Chamberfest depuis sa première participation à notre festival d’été. Lauréat de Honen, artiste Steinway, conseiller artistique du Chamberfest – nous avons hâte d’entendre Hinrich et son hôte Eric Friesen discuter de musique et de la vie dans cette édition exclusive de Chamber Chat : Édition festival, offerte aux […]

0

31/07/2021 @ 10:00 – 11:00 – Le Quatuor Danel, favori du Chamberfest, interprète les opus 18, no 1 et Chostakovitch no 2 de Beethoven dans une représentation créée spécialement pour le Chamberfest, enregistrée en direct de la maison du quatuor à cordes à Anvers, en Belgique.

0

27/07/2021 @ 10:00 – 11:00 – La violoniste phénoménale Lara St. John partage un concert spécial programmé et enregistré en direct d’Atterbury House, où la violoniste canadienne a été l’hôte d’une série réussie tout au long de la pandémie. Le programme comprendra du matériel solo et collaboratif mettant en valeur des compositeurs féminins et canadiens.

0

25/07/2021 @ 16:00 – 17:00 – Le pianiste et ami de longue date du festival, Hinrich Alpers nous présente sa ville natale dans un récital spécialement programmé et enregistré. Brahms et Beethoven domineront ce programme, qui comprend une représentation des symphonies de Beethoven selon les transcriptions de Liszt, qui viennent d’être enregistrées !

0

22/07/2021 @ 11:00 – 12:00 – Qu’est-ce qui fait de la chanson « Somewhere Over the Rainbow » un classique indélébile ? Rob Kapilow aide à expliquer pourquoi cette « chanson de désir », comme l’appelait Yip Harburg, est devenue encore plus significative et pertinente alors que nous continuons à faire face à ce moment difficile de la pandémie.

0

22/07/2021 @ 10:00 – 11:00 – Rob Kapilow, favori du Chamberfest, explore ce que Beethoven a à nous apprendre pendant la pandémie. Ces mini conversations incluront des idées éclairantes sur la connexion, les nouveaux parcours et la transformation à travers de courts extraits musicaux de la 5e Symphonie de Beethoven, de la Sonate d’Appassionata et de la Sonate « Kreutzer » […]

0

22/07/2021 @ 9:00 – 10:00 – Pour le célèbre pianiste classique Simon Trpčeski, il n’y a pas de frontières culturelles ou musicales. Cet enregistrement, créé spécialement pour le Chamberfest, mettra en vedette de la musique pour piano solo en direct de sa Macédoine natale par les compositeurs contemporains Buzharovski et Shahov, et des extraits de son dernier projet MAKEDONISSIMO, qui mélange […]

0

03/08/2021 @ 17:00 – 18:00 – Les talentueux frères et sœurs du Quatuor Despax sont régulièrement sur scène dans la capitale nationale et au-delà depuis qu’ils ont commencé à se produire ensemble il y a près de deux décennies. Attendez-vous à un mélange éclectique d’œuvres standard et de nouvelles surprises.

0

01/08/2021 @ 17:00 – 18:00 – Le duo piano et percussion basé à Ottawa, SHHH! Ensemble, partage son style unique et leur programmation « avant-accessible » lors de ce concert captivant. Également disponible cet été, les familles pourront explorer avec ce duo créatif lors du spectacle Amenez les enfants !

0

30/07/2021 @ 17:00 – 18:00 – Beth Silver (violoncelle) et Jenna Richards (piano) explorent le folk, le violon et le klezmer dans ce programme unique. Le public peut entendre Jenna et Beth partager une programmation classique romantique le jeudi 29 juillet à 15h, dans le cadre de la série Steinway.

0

27/07/2021 @ 17:00 – 18:00 – Reconnue comme une pionnière lors du Prix des pionniers de SRC Ottawa de 2021 pour avoir eu un impact positif, Kathryn Patricia Cobbler est une altiste, compositrice, arrangeuse et éducatrice appréciée pour ses paysages sonores uniques.

0

24/07/2021 @ 17:00 – 18:00 – Le public d’Ottawa reconnaîtra le style unique de John Kofi Dapaah, qui transcende les frontières entre le monde classique, le jazz et le gospel. Ce concert présente Dapaah dans le monde du jazz. Le public pourra participer à la programmation classique de John le lundi 26 juillet à 15 h, dans le cadre de la […]

0

29/07/2021 @ 15:00 – 16:15 – Beth Silver (violoncelle), interprète fréquente au Chamberfest, et Jenna Richards (piano), directrice de la planification artistique et de l’engagement communautaire du Chamberfest, collaborent depuis plus d’une décennie. Ce concert présente le duo dans un programme luxuriant d’œuvres de Brahms, Dvorak, Kodaly et Schumann. Le public peut aussi entendre Jenna et Beth explorer le folk, le […]

0

26/07/2021 @ 15:00 – 16:15 – Ce concert présente le pianiste multi-talentueux John Kofi Dapaah fermement dans le monde classique avec un programme d’œuvres de Florence Price (*une première à Ottawa), Bach et Beethoven. Le public pourra également participer à la représentation de jazz de John le lundi 24 juillet à 17h, dans le cadre de la série Record Centre.

0

26/07/2021 @ 12:00 – 13:00 – Duo Concertante s’exprime sur les événements sociaux et politiques de notre temps dans Ecology of Being. Avec des œuvres commandées de Melissa Hui, Ian Cusson, Bekah Simms, Dawn Ierihò:kwats Avery et Carmen Braden, Ecology of Being incite à ressentir et vivre le traumatisme d’une terre perdue, et à apprécier la joie d’un monde que nous […]

0

23/07/2021 @ 15:00 – 16:15 – Le pianiste d’Ottawa Carson Becke partage un programme réfléchi inspiré de la narration à travers la musique, avec des œuvres de compositeurs anglais et nordiques, et des arrangements de Carson lui-même.

0

04/08/2021 @ 12:00 – 13:00 – Joignez-vous à l’un des jeunes quatuors à cordes les plus excitants du Canada dans le cadre d’un programme mettant en vedette l’avant-dernier opus 77, no 1 de Haydn, et le Quatuor opus 74, no 10 (« Harpe ») de Beethoven, célèbre pour ses sections pizzicato et son esprit chaleureux.

0

04/08/2021 @ 12:00 – 13:00 – Join one of Canada’s most exciting young string quartets in a program featuring Haydn’s penultimate Op. 77, No. 1, and Beethoven’s Op. 74, No. 10 (“Harp”) Quartet, famous for its pizzicato sections and warm-hearted spirit.

0

01/08/2021 @ 10:00 – 11:15 – Toutes vedettes canadiennes de leur instrument, Caroline Lizotte, Caroline Léonardelli, Lori Gemmell et Jennifer Swartz se réunissent pour partager la beauté de la harpe dans l’espace sacré de Beechwood. Parmi les arrangements à l’honneur, mentionnons le Quatuor à cordes en si bémol de Mozart, le K 589 et les Quatre Saisons bien-aimées de Vivaldi.

0

25/07/2021 @ 10:00 – 11:15 – La guitare occupe une place centrale dans un programme mettant en vedette des arrangements de la Sonate pour piano KV 448 de Mozart, des compositions originales de membres anciens et actuels du Quatuor, et plus encore.

0

01/08/2021 @ 20:30 – 22:00 – Ladom Ensemble revient au Chamberfest pour partager son mélange unique de musique de chambre acoustique et de musique du monde. Piano, violoncelle, accordéon et percussions… attendez-vous à la passion, à la sophistication, et à un côté un peu sauvage !

0

31/07/2021 @ 20:30 – 22:00 – Chansons de marins courtes, de capstand, de halyard, lamentations, ou chansons de forecastle… quel que soit vos chansons de marins préférées, joignez-vous à ces chanteurs primés pour un avant-goût des maritimes, avec des airs d’Angleterre, d’Écosse, d’Irlande, des Amériques et des Caraïbes, arrangés par le directeur musical de La Nef, Seán Dagher.

0

30/07/2021 @ 20:30 – 22:00 – Qui a tué Leclair ? Meurtre, mystère et intrigue sont au menu alors que l’ensemble montréalais Infusion Baroque enquête sur le meurtre du compositeur Jean-Marie Leclair (1697-1764). Ce programme présente plusieurs sonates en trio de Leclair et des œuvres de ses collègues et rivaux.

0

29/07/2021 @ 20:30 – 22:00 – Le Montréal Horn Stars propulse le quintette de cuivres vers de nouveaux sommets avec des arrangements inventifs et beaucoup d’improvisation dans un concert groovy et éclectique qui allie pop, jazz et classique.

0

24/07/2021 @ 20:30 – 22:00 – Le compositeur guitariste Duane Andrews arrive sur scène avec Mark Fewer (violon), Carissa Klopoushak (violon), David Marks (alto) et Julia MacLaine (violoncelle) dans un programme mettant en vedette la musique de l’album Conception Bay d’Andrews. Le public peut s’attendre à Jazz Manouche, nouvelle composition musicale, à des gigues et reels de Terre-Neuve, à quelques références […]

0

23/07/2021 @ 20:30 – 22:00 – Tirant leur nom du mot « cœur » dans la religion afro-cubaine de la Santeria, OKAN est un ensemble primé dirigé par des femmes qui fusionne les racines afro-cubaines avec le jazz, le folk et les rythmes mondiaux dans des chansons sur l’immigration, le courage et l’amour.

0

22/07/2021 @ 20:30 – 22:00 – Le quatuor The Fretless, lauréat d’un prix JUNO, est reconnu pour son jeu féroce, sa composition magistrale et un son qui met le genre sens dessus-dessous. Dans cette performance unique, ils sont accompagnés de la chanteuse Béatrix Méthé du groupe folk indépendant montréalais Rosier.

0

03/08/2021 @ 19:00 – 20:15 – Découvrez ce qui se passe lorsque la musique de chambre s’allie à la beauté physique de la danse, alors qu’Echo Chamber Toronto s’associe aux membres des quatuors à cordes Rosebud et Ironwood.

0

30/07/2021 @ 19:00 – 20:15 – Les guérilleros punks festifs de Toronto partagent un spectacle éclectique qui unit précision exaltante et témérité.

0

28/07/2021 @ 19:00 – 20:15 – Adulé par le public candien, le Gryphon Trio offre un programme axé sur le Trio des esprits de Beethoven, avec Les visions fugitives de Mozart de Silvestrov et une nouvelle œuvre commandée au compositeur canadien Bruce A. Russell.

0

27/07/2021 @ 19:00 – 20:15 – Deux grands virtuoses allient leurs talents dans un programme d’œuvres pour deux pianos. Œuvres de Mozart, Ravel, Rachmaninov et Bernstein.

0

24/07/2021 @ 19:00 – 20:15 – Lettres from the Afterlife de Dinuk Wijerante, le Quatuor de Samy Moussa, Entracte de Caroline Shaw et le Quatuor en la mineur de Mendelssohn– des œuvres qui rendent hommage aux compositeurs du passé.

0

22/07/2021 @ 19:00 – 20:15 – Centrée autour de la musique du compositeur argentin Osvaldo Golijov, La nuit des chevaux volants explore des moments d’émerveillement et de mélancolie, avec des ondes sonores frénétiques et électrisantes, dans un programme d’œuvres qui s’étend sur plus de cinq siècles.

0

04/08/2021 @ 19:00 – 20:15 – Brassfire Big Band ! Des standards et de nouveaux arrangements de la musique de Duke Ellington, Oscar Peterson, Tommy Dorsey et bien d’autres. De plus, ce programme inclut la première canadienne de Rhapsody in Blue de George Gershwin arrangé pour piano et orchestre de jazz.

0

02/08/2021 @ 19:00 – 20:15 – Le plus important orchestre de chambre de Montréal propose un programme comprenant des œuvres de Kelly-Marie Murphy, Josef Suk et Tchaïkovski.

0

29/07/2021 @ 19:00 – 20:15 – « Libre et Glorieux – Chansons d’inspiration romanichel et airs d’opérette », met en vedette l’éblouissante soprano Isabel Bayrakdarian dans des œuvres de Brahms, Dvořák, Liszt, Iradier, Valverde et Gilbert.

0

23/07/2021 @ 19:00 – 20:15 – Une véritable et singulière expérience de voyage dans le temps, « Il était une fois à Versailles » présente la musique de la cour royale française, jouée sur des instruments d’époque d’Arion orchestre baroque de Montréal, un pilier du monde de la musique ancienne depuis 1981.

Coming events

0

04/08/2022 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm – Spontaneous and impeccable in their performances, the world-renowned Danish String Quartet promises to make even the most seasoned chamber music fanatic feel as though they’re discovering chamber classics for the first time.

0

02/08/2022 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm – Equal parts passion and precision, Tunisian-born mezzo-soprano Rihab Chaieb has captivated audiences around the world with her vocal clarity and lavish tone. With added forces from the newly minted Chamberfest Artists-in-Residence, the evening is sure to mark an exceptional festival debut for Chaieb.

0

31/07/2022 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm – Sounding Thunder brings to life the struggles and accomplishments of Francis Pegahmagabow, distinguished Ojibwe military officer and political leader, following his journey from the trenches of WWI to his time as Chief of the Wasauksing Ojibwe. This cultural collaboration paying homage to the legacy of a Canadian hero acts as a reminder of the challenges […]

0

29/07/2022 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm – The electrifying combination of piano trio, a cappella ensemble Nordic Voices, and the vivacious mezzo-soprano Marion Newman will resonate across Carleton Dominion-Chalmers Centre. As an extra treat for this evening, this unique collaboration imagined by the illustrious Gryphon Trio brings forward new works by composers Eliot Britton, Andrew Balfour, and Henrik Hellstenius.

0

23/07/2022 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm – When the internationally celebrated Canadian Brass is on stage, a mixture of humour and skill guarantees a performance unlike any you’ve experienced. The Canadian Brass promises to deliver a lively and fun concert, bolstered by their impeccable technique and powerful performance.

0

03/08/2021 @ 10:00 am – 11:00 am – Known for his virtuosity and musicality, Canadian violinist James Ehnes is a favourite of audiences around the world. Join James and Eric Friesen in this exclusive Chamber Chat: Festival Edition, available to Festival Livestream Passholders. Audiences will remember James’ gorgeous performances of the complete Beethoven violin sonatas in 2019. Looking forward to hearing him perform […]

0

30/07/2021 @ 10:00 am – 11:00 am – Quatuor Danel has been at the forefront of the international music scene since 1991. Famous for their bold, concentrated interpretations of the string quartet cycles of Haydn, Beethoven, Schubert, Shostakovich, and Weinberg, Quatuor Danel is a long-time Chamberfest fan favourite. Join them in conversation with Eric Friesen in this exclusive Chamber Chat: Festival Edition, available […]

0

28/07/2021 @ 10:00 am – 11:00 am – Infusion Baroque has been captivating audiences with creative and interactive programming across North America. Join host Eric Friesen and the four women of Infusion Baroque in a conversation centred around their many creative projects, including “Who Killed Leclair?” (an interactive murder mystery soirée based on the unsolved murder of the famous musician), and much more […]

0

26/07/2021 @ 10:00 am – 11:00 am – One of “Canada’s 30 hot classical musicians under 30 in 2020” (CBC Music), Ottawa audiences were introduced to rising soprano star Jonelle Sills in her NACO debut in 2020. Learn more about Jonelle’s artistic journey in this exclusive Chamber Chat: Festival Edition, available to Festival Livestream Passholders. Audiences will have the chance to hear Jonelle […]

0

23/07/2021 @ 10:00 am – 11:00 am – Hinrich Alpers has been a favourite of Chamberfest audiences since his first appearance at our summer festival. Honen’s laureate, Steinway artist, Chamberfest artistic advisor – we can’t wait to hear Hinrich and host Eric Friesen chat on music and life in this exclusive Chamber Chat: Festival Edition, available to Festival Livestream Passholders. Hinrich has also […]

0

31/07/2021 @ 10:00 am – 11:00 am – Chamberfest favourite Quatuor Danel performs Beethoven’s Op. 18, No. 1 and Shostakovich No. 2 in a performance created especially for Chamberfest, recorded live from the string quartet’s home in Antwerp, Belgium.

0

27/07/2021 @ 10:00 am – 11:00 am – Phenomenal firebrand violinist Lara St. John shares a special concert programmed and recorded live from Atterbury House, where the Canadian violinist has been hosting a successful series throughout the pandemic. The program will include solo and collaborative material highlighting female and Canadian composers.

0

25/07/2021 @ 4:00 pm – 5:00 pm – Pianist and long-time festival friend Hinrich Alpers brings his hometown to us in a specially programmed and recorded recital. Brahms and Beethoven will dominate this program, which includes a performance of Beethoven symphonies in Liszt’s transcriptions, hot off the recording press!

0

22/07/2021 @ 11:00 am – 12:00 pm – What makes the song “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” an indelible classic? Rob Kapilow helps explain why this “song of yearning,” as Yip Harburg called it, has become even more meaningful and relevant as we continue to confront this challenging pandemic moment.

0

22/07/2021 @ 10:00 am – 11:00 am – Rob Kapilow explores what Beethoven has to teach us in the pandemic. These bite-sized chats will include illuminating insights on connection, new paths, and transformation through short musical excerpts from Beethoven’s 5th Symphony, Appassionata Sonata, and “Kreutzer” (now also known as the “Bridgetower”) Sonata.

0

22/07/2021 @ 9:00 am – 10:00 am – For renowned classical pianist Simon Trpčeski, there are no cultural or musical boundaries. This recording, created especially for Chamberfest, will feature live solo piano music of his native Macedonia by contemporary composers Buzharovski and Shahov, and excerpts from his latest project MAKEDONISSIMO, which blends Macedonian folk music with highly virtuosic, jazz-influenced riffs and harmonies. Stay […]

0

03/08/2021 @ 5:00 pm – 6:00 pm – The talented siblings of Quatuor Despax have been a regular on stages in the national capital and beyond since they began performing together nearly two decades ago. Expect an eclectic mix of standards and new surprises.

0

01/08/2021 @ 5:00 pm – 6:00 pm – Ottawa-based piano/percussion duo, SHHH! Ensemble, share their unique style and “avant-accessible” programming in this captivating concert. Also coming this summer, families can explore with this creative duo at a Bring the Kids! show.

0

30/07/2021 @ 5:00 pm – 6:00 pm – Beth Silver (cello) and Jenna Richards (piano) explore folk, fiddle, and klezmer in this unique program. Audiences can hear Jenna and Beth share a Romantic Classical program on Thursday, July 29 at 3pm, part of the Steinway Series.

0

27/07/2021 @ 5:00 pm – 6:00 pm – Recognized as a 2021 CBC Ottawa Trailblazer for making a positive impact, Kathryn Patricia Cobbler is a loop pedal violist, composer, arranger, and educator known for creating unique soundscapes.

0

24/07/2021 @ 5:00 pm – 6:00 pm – Ottawa audiences will recognize John Kofi Dapaah’s unique style, which crosses the boundaries between the classical, jazz, and gospel worlds. This concert sees Dapaah in the world of jazz. Audiences can take in John’s classical program on Monday, July 26 at 3pm, part of the Steinway Series.

0

29/07/2021 @ 3:00 pm – 4:15 pm – Frequent Chamberfest performer Beth Silver (cello) and Chamberfest’s Director, Artistic Planning & Community Engagement, Jenna Richards (piano), have been collaborating for more than a decade. This concert sees the duo in a lush program of works by Brahms, Dvorak, Kodaly, and Schumann. Audiences can also hear Jenna and Beth explore folk, fiddle, and klezmer on […]

0

26/07/2021 @ 3:00 pm – 4:15 pm – This concert finds the multitalented pianist John Kofi Dapaah firmly in the classical world with a program of works by Florence Price (*Ottawa premiere), Bach, and Beethoven. Audiences can also take in John’s jazz set on Monday, July 24 at 5pm, part of the Record Centre Series

0

26/07/2021 @ 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm – Duo Concertante reflects on the social and political events of our time in Ecology of Being. With commissioned works by Melissa Hui, Ian Cusson, Bekah Simms, Dawn Ierihò:kwats Avery, and Carmen Braden, Ecology of Being is about feeling and experiencing the trauma of a lost earth, and about treasuring the joy of a world we […]

0

23/07/2021 @ 3:00 pm – 4:15 pm – Ottawa pianist Carson Becke shares a thoughtful program inspired by storytelling through music, with works by English and Nordic composers, and Carson’s own arrangements.

0

04/08/2021 @ 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm – Join one of Canada’s most exciting young string quartets in a program featuring Haydn’s penultimate Op. 77, No. 1, and Beethoven’s Op. 74, No. 10 (“Harp”) Quartet, famous for its pizzicato sections and warm-hearted spirit.

0

01/08/2021 @ 10:00 am – 11:15 am – All Canadian stars of their instrument, Caroline Lizotte, Caroline Léonardelli, Lori Gemmell, and Jennifer Swartz come together to share the beauty of the harp in Beechwood’s sacred space. Featured arrangements include Mozart’s String Quartet in B flat, K 589, and Vivaldi’s beloved Four Seasons.

0

25/07/2021 @ 10:00 am – 11:15 am – The guitar takes centre stage in a program featuring arrangements of Mozart’s Piano Sonata KV 448, original compositions by former and current Quartet members, and more.

0

01/08/2021 @ 8:30 pm – 10:00 pm – Ladom Ensemble returns to Chamberfest with their unique blend of chamber music and inspiration from around the world – from Iran and Serbia to Argentina. Piano, cello, accordion, and percussion… expect passion, sophistication, and high intensity.

0

31/07/2021 @ 8:30 pm – 10:00 pm – Capstand shanties, halyard shanties, laments, forecastle songs, short haul shanties… Whatever your shanty of choice, join these award-winning singers for a taste of the maritimes, with tunes from England, Scotland, Ireland, the Americas, and the Caribbean, arranged by La Nef’s musical director, Seán Dagher.

0

30/07/2021 @ 8:30 pm – 10:00 pm – “Who Killed Leclair?” Murder, mystery and intrigue are on the menu as Montreal-based ensemble Infusion Baroque investigates the murder of composer Jean-Marie Leclair (1697-1764). This program features several of Leclair’s trio sonatas, and works by his colleagues and rivals.

0

29/07/2021 @ 8:30 pm – 10:00 pm – The Montreal Horn Stars take the brass quintet to new heights with inventive arrangements and loads of improvisation in a groovy, eclectic concert that blends pop, jazz, and classical.

0

24/07/2021 @ 8:30 pm – 10:00 pm – Composer guitarist Duane Andrews hits the stage with Mark Fewer (violin), Carissa Klopoushak (violin), David Marks (viola), and Julia MacLaine (cello) in a program featuring music from Andrews’ album Conception Bay. Audiences can expect Jazz Manouche, new music composition, Newfoundland jigs and reels, some fun classical references to Haydn, Stravinsky’s Firebird, and more!

0

23/07/2021 @ 8:30 pm – 10:00 pm – Taking their name from the word for heart in the Afro-Cuban religion of Santeria, OKAN is an award-winning, women-led ensemble that fuses Afro-Cuban roots with jazz, folk, and global rhythms in songs about immigration, courage, and love.

0

22/07/2021 @ 8:30 pm – 10:00 pm – JUNO Award-winning quartet The Fretless is known for ferocious playing, masterful composition, and a genre-bending sound. In this unique performance, they are joined by singer Béatrix Méthé of Montreal-based indie folk band, Rosier.

0

03/08/2021 @ 7:00 pm – 8:15 pm – Discover what happens when chamber music merges with the physical beauty of dance, as Echo Chamber Toronto joins forces with members of the Rosebud and Ironwood String Quartets.

0

30/07/2021 @ 7:00 pm – 8:15 pm – Toronto’s original guerrilla-folk party-punk massive shares a genre-bending set that is equal parts exhilarating precision and reckless abandon.

0

28/07/2021 @ 7:00 pm – 8:15 pm – Canada’s beloved piano trio delivers a program centred around Beethoven’s Ghost Trio, with Silvestrov’s “Fugitive Visions of Mozart,” and a commissioned work by Canadian composer Bruce A. Russell

0

26/07/2021 @ 7:00 pm – 8:15 pm – Ottawa’s “take no prisoners” (ARTSFILE) quartet joins forces with iconic pianist Jamie Parker.

0

24/07/2021 @ 7:00 pm – 8:15 pm – Dinuk Wijerante’s “Letters from the Afterlife,” Samy Moussa’s quartet, Caroline Shaw’s “Entracte,” and the Mendelssohn String Quartet in A minor – works paying homage to composers of the past.

0

22/07/2021 @ 7:00 pm – 8:15 pm – Centred around the music of Argentinian composer Osvaldo Golijov, “The Night of the Flying Horses” explores moments of wonder and melancholy, with frenetic, electrifying waves of sound in a program of works spanning over five centuries.

0

04/08/2021 @ 7:00 pm – 8:15 pm – Brassfire Big Band! Standards and hot new arrangements of the music of Duke Ellington, Oscar Peterson, Tommy Dorsey, and more. This program also includes the Canadian premiere of George Gershwin’s “Rhapsody in Blue” for piano and jazz band.

0

02/08/2021 @ 7:00 pm – 8:15 pm – Montreal’s premier chamber orchestra shares a program including works by Kelly-Marie Murphy, Josef Suk, and Tchaikovsky.

0

23/07/2021 @ 7:00 pm – 8:15 pm – A true and singular time travel experience, “Once upon a time in Versailles” features music of the Royal French court, played on period instruments by Montreal’s Arion Baroque Orchestra, a cornerstone in the world of early music since 1981.

0

03/08/2021 @ 10:00 am – 11:00 am – Known for his virtuosity and musicality, Canadian violinist James Ehnes is a favourite of audiences around the world. Join James and Eric Friesen in this exclusive Chamber Chat: Festival Edition, available to Festival Livestream Passholders. Audiences will remember James’ gorgeous performances of the complete Beethoven violin sonatas in 2019. Looking forward to hearing him perform […]