The OSM Announces a Series of Five Online Concerts

Advertisement / Publicité

This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: Francais (French)

Montreal, January 14, 2021 – The Orchestre symphonique de Montréal announces a series of five new concerts to be broadcast on OSM.CA between January 19 and April 13, 2021. The first two concerts will give music lovers an opportunity to better acquaint themselves with Rafael Payare, the Orchestra’s recently appointed music director for the 2022-2023 season. The maestro will be joined alternately by pianist Charles Richard-Hamelin and cellist Alisa Weilerstein. Passion and love will fill the air in February, when the Orchestra presents Tchaikovsky’s Romeo and Juliet, under the baton of conductor Alexander Shelley, while irony and drama will take centre stage in March with Stravinsky’s The Soldier’s Tale, under the direction of OSM Assistant Conductor Thomas Le Duc-Moreau. Finally, the Ukrainian-born Finnish conductor Dalia Stasevska makes her debut with the OSM musicians in a program that honours Finland and Russia. Let the music play on!


Starting January 19, the public is invited to discover the musical world of Rafael Payare in a concert featuring Quebec pianist Charles Richard-Hamelin performing Mozart’s stirring Concerto No. 24, a masterpiece of the repertoire. Gubaïdulina’s Fairytale Poem adds a touch of magic to this program, and the enchanting stories of Ma mère l’Oye are evoked with refined restraint in Ravel’s delightful score. Then, on February 2, Maestro Payare will conduct a personal favourite, Dvorak’s powerful Symphony No. 7, one of the composer’s greatest works, and Mediodía en el llano, by his Venezuelan compatriot Antonio Estévez. Shostakovich’s introspective Concerto No. 2 will bring together Maestro Payare and his wife, the renowned cellist Alisa Weilerstein.

Advertisement / Publicité


  • Tuesday, January 19: Charles Richard-Hamelin and Mozart’s Concerto No. 24: Merging Finesse and Depth
  • Tuesday, February 2: Dvořák’s Masterful Symphony No. 7 Conducted by Rafael Payare
  • Tuesday, February 9: Symphonic Love Stories: From Tchaikovsky to Bernstein
  • Tuesday, March 2: Stravinsky’s The Soldier’s Tale
  • Tuesday, March 30: A Nordic Adventure: Dalia Stasevska Conducts Sibelius and Shostakovich

The concerts will be online at 7 p.m. and will be available for 14 days. For more information, visit


This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: Francais (French)


About Author

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.