Premiere performance of Phillip Glass’s Symphony No 13 (Live Webcast)


This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: Francais (French)

Advertisement / Publicité

The National Arts Center Orchestra, conducted by Music Director Alexander Shelleym performs Symphony No 13 by Phillip Glass at Southam Hall of the National Arts Center in Ottawa on April 13-14. On the heels of a US premiere performance at Carnegie Hall on April 9, preceeded by a concert at Roy Thomson Hall on March 30, they will reprise this work in a program of four pieces on their home turf in Ottawa,This work was commissionned by the orchestra on the theme Truth in Our Time as a tribute to Canadian journalist Peter Jennings. Mr. Jennings was not only a highly respected news anchor for ABC News, he was also a trustee of Carnegie Hall during his years in New York City, the founding director of the American chapter of the Friends of the NAC Orchestra, and served as a lifelong champion of Canadian artists generally. These concerts open with a work by Montreal-based composer Nicole Lizée (Zeiss after Dark) followed by one of Dmitry Schostakovitch (Symphony No 9), another by Erich Korngold (Violin Concerto in D Major, with soloist Blake Pouliot).


Date(s) - 14/04/2022
8:00 pm - 9:30 pm

National Arts Center Orchestra

Price Range
t.b.a. / À déterminer

Event Artists
National Arts Center Orchestra, Alexander Shelly, conductor; Blake Pouliot: solo violin

Phone Number

Event Website

Event Facebook



  • Concert
  • Classification of ensemble/soloist

    • Classical music
    • Loading Map....

      This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: Francais (French)


      About Author

      Leave A Reply

      This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.