Vaughan Williams: Concertos (Chandos)

0
80%
80%
  • Chandos
    4
  • User Ratings (0 Votes)
    0

Si je devais choisir entre Elgar et Vaughan Williams pour un voyage sur une île déserte, je sais lequel ce serait. Elgar semble de nos jours trop familier, tandis que Vaughan Williams ne perd jamais une occasion de nous surprendre.

Vous ne le devineriez pas automatiquement dès la première pièce de cet enregistrement de l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto: la « Serenade to Music » de 1938, une oeuvre exubérante faite de morceaux de Shakespeare et de broderie anglaise. Assez rapidement, nous passons au concerto pour hautbois de 1944. Il s’agit d’une consolation exquise composée durant la guerre, une promesse de champs verts et de petits sablés pour le thé quand tous les désagréments sont terminés. La lecture qu’en fait Sarah Jeffrey est idéalement sereine, teintée d’une simple trace de scepticisme qui est la bienvenue.
« Flos Campi » – un concerto pour alto de 1924 qui incorpore un petit choeur – fait une fusion entre le Cantique de Salomon et fleurs des champs français de la guerre. La soliste, Teng Li, semble très affairée sur son propre jeu, mais son interprétation de vient mémorable à partir d’une deuxième écoute. On peut ainsi se rappeler à quel point l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto a affuté son jeu sous la baguette de Peter Oundjian. Le concerto pour piano, écrit pour Harriet Cohen, conclut cet album. Il bénéficie de l’exécution la plus convaincante de Louis Lortie, à ma connaissance – beaucoup de bluff et de fanfaronnades, mais, d’un bout à l’autre du concerto, c’est comme si on entendait battre le cœur d’un grand compositeur. Un disque que l’on pourrait emporter sur une île déserte, sans l’ombre d’un doute.

Partager:

A propos de l'auteur

Norman Lebrecht is a prolific writer on music and cultural affairs. His blog, Slipped Disc, is one of the most popular sites for cultural news. He presents The Lebrecht Interview on BBC Radio 3 and is a contributor to several publications, including the Wall Street Journal and The Standpoint. Visit every Friday for his weekly CD review.

Laissez une réponse

Vaughan Williams: Concertos (Chandos)

0
80%
80%
  • Chandos
    4
  • User Ratings (0 Votes)
    0
If I had to choose Elgar or VW for a desert island, I know which it would be. Elgar these days seems over-familiar, where Vaughan Williams loses none of his capacity to surprise.
You would not automatically guess that from the opening item on this Toronto Symphony recording, the 1938 Serenade to Music, a flossy piece which is made up of bits of Shakespeare and broderie anglaise. Moving swiftly on, the 1944 oboe concerto is an exquisite wartime consolation, a promise of green fields and scones for tea when all the unpleasantness is over. Sarah Jeffrey’s reading is ideally serene, tinged with just a trace of face-saving scepticism.
Flos Campi, a 1924 viola concerto with added small chorus, fuses the Song of Solomon with the flowers of wartime French fields. The soloist, Teng Li, seems to linger about her business but the interpretation opens up memorably on second hearing, a reminder of how effective the Toronto Symphony has grown under the departing Peter Oundjian’s baton. The concluding piano concerto, written for Harriet Cohen, receives the most convincing performance of my   experience from Louis Lortie – lots of bluff and bluster, but a big composer’s heart beating through and through. A desert island disc, no question.
Share:

About Author

Norman Lebrecht is a prolific writer on music and cultural affairs. His blog, Slipped Disc, is one of the most popular sites for cultural news. He presents The Lebrecht Interview on BBC Radio 3 and is a contributor to several publications, including the Wall Street Journal and The Standpoint. Visit every Friday for his weekly CD review.

Leave A Reply