Appointments from the music and artistic world to the Order of Canada

Advertisement / Publicité

This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: Francais (French)

November 27, 2020 – The Order of Canada is one of our country’s highest civilian honours. Its Companions, Officers and Members take to heart the motto of the Order: DESIDERANTES MELIOREM PATRIAM (“They desire a better country”).

Created in 1967, the Order of Canada recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. More than 7 000 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order. Those who bear the Order’s iconic snowflake insignia have changed our nation’s measure of success and, through the sum of their accomplishments, have helped us build a better Canada.

Advertisement / Publicité

Appointments are made by the governor general on the recommendation of the Advisory Council for the Order of Canada. For more information about the Order of Canada or to nominate someone, visit

Congratulations to the 114 new appointees, which include 8 Companions (C.C.), 21 Officers (O.C.), 1 Honorary Member (C.M.), and 84 Members (C.M.). Each recipient will be invited to accept their insignia at a ceremony to be held at a later date.

Among the 114 new appointees, here are those who are being honoured for their commitment to the arts:

  • Roger Dubois, C.M. Drummondville, Quebec – For his patronage in the fields of culture, health, sport and education.
  • Denise Filiatrault, C.C., O.Q. – For her untiring commitment to the performing arts as an actor, director, producer and mentor.
  • Jackie Flanagan, C.M. – For encouraging public engagement and emerging writers as founder of Alberta Views magazine, and for supporting the Canadian arts.
  • Stanley Hamilton, C.M., O.B.C. – For his contributions to business education in Canada and abroad, and for generously supporting Vancouver’s arts scene.
  • The Honourable Janis Guðrún Johnson, C.M. – For her long-standing career in the public service, and for her contributions to Manitoba’s arts and culture scene.
  • John R. Lacey, C.M. – For his dedicated international business leadership, mentorship of the next generation and philanthropy in support of the arts.
  • Menka Nagrani, C.M. – For her efforts to include  people with disabilities into the performing arts, blending dance, theatre and music.
  • Lara St. John, C.M. – For pushing the boundaries of classical interpretation as a solo violinist and for supporting diversity in the arts.
  • Alain Chartrand, C.M., C.Q. – For his leadership at the helm of a pan-Canadian music initiative and for promoting Francophone music at home and abroad.
  • Marietta Orlov, C.M. (deceased) – For her lifelong contributions as a piano pedagogue and for her enduring devotion to the next generation of Canadian musicians.
  • Christina Petrowska Quilico, C.M. – For her celebrated career as a classical and contemporary pianist, and for championing Canadian music.
  • Crystal Pite, C.M. Vancouver, British Columbia – For her contributions to contemporary dance, as an innovative choreographer, dancer and director.

For more information and to read the full statement by the governor general, please visit

This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: Francais (French)


About Author

LSM Newswire is La Scena's Newswire service. Organizations can post a press release on our website for a fee. See the media kit at our advertising page at

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.