Canadian Isabelle David Amongst 44 Selected for International Maj Lind Piano Competition in Helsinki, Finland

Advertisement / Publicité

Altogether 44 pianists have been selected for the Fourth International Maj Lind Piano Competition to be held in Helsinki, Finland on August 17–31, 2017. They represent 16 nationalities: South Korea (10 competitors), Finland (6), United States (5), Russia (4), China (3), Germany (3), Indonesia (2), Israel (2), Italy (2), Spain (1), Georgia (1), Great Britain (1), Canada (1), Norway (1), Ukraine (1) and New Zealand (1).

See the list of competitors below.

The competition received a record 195 applications by the deadline on April 24. The participants in the first round were selected by a competition team on the basis of video recordings. The competition is open to pianists the world over born in or after 1987, regardless of nationality.

Advertisement / Publicité

The order of performance will be decided by lot at the Helsinki Music Centre at 12 noon on August 17. The pianist whose name is drawn will perform first, and the others will follow in alphabetical order.

There will be three rounds in the competition, all of them public events. The first (August 18–22) and second rounds (August 24–25) will be held in the Camerata Hall and the finals in the main hall of the Helsinki Music Centre: the chamber music finals (August 27) and the orchestral finals (August 30–31). The prizes will be awarded at about 22:00, after the finals on August 31.

Arabesques et adages by Kaija Saariaho is the work commissioned for the competition and one of the elective works in the second round. The quartets in the chamber music finals will be the Tempera and the New Helsinki, and accompanying the pianists in the orchestral finals will be the Helsinki Philharmonic conducted by Anna-Maria Helsing.

The competition jury will have eight members: Dmitri BashkirovJanina FialkowskaRalf GothóniEwa KupiecAlberto NosèRoland PöntinenDang Thai Son and Dina Yoffe.

The first prize is worth €30,000, the second €25,000 and the third €20,000. The other three finalists will each receive a consolation prize of €8,000. Special prizes totalling €10,500 will also be awarded, and the winner will give a solo recital at the PianoEspoo festival on November 9, 2017.

The whole competition will be streamed worldwide by the Finnish Broadcasting Company (Yle) and broadcast in Finland on Yle Radio 1 and the Teema & Fem TV channel.

The competition is being organised by the University of the Arts Helsinki, the Sibelius Academy, and financed by the Sibelius Academy Foundation out of the Maj Lind Fund. Tickets are on sale at Ticketmaster.

The previous winners of the International Maj Lind Piano Competition are Alberto Nosè (2002), Sofija Guljak (2007) and Sergei Redkin (2012).

The pianists accepted for the Fourth International Maj Lind Piano Competition 2017 are:

Alasaarela, Hannu (b. 1994), Finland

An, Tianxu (b. 1999), China

Bouterey-Ishido, Jun (b. 1990), New Zealand

Carr, Joachim (b. 1988), Norway

David, Isabelle (b. 1990), Canada

Gogava, Ana (b. 1992), Georgia

Grinshtein, Natanel (b. 1995), Israel

Han, Kyuho (b. 1993), South Korea

Hanßen, Knut (b. 1992), Germany

Hartono, Anthony (b. 1995), Indonesia

In, So Hyang (b. 1991), South Korea

Jalkanen, Väinö (b. 1989), Finland

Kang, Hye-Lee (b. 1995), South Korea

Kim, Yedam (b. 1988), South Korea

Kim, Jun Ho (b. 1995), South Korea

Kim, Jiyoung (b. 1996), South Korea

Klein, Kathrin Isabelle (b. 1991), Germany

Klimo, Peter (b. 1990), United States

Lapaz Lombardo, Enrique (b. 1988), Spain

Lasaracina, Viviana Pia (b. 1988), Italy

Lee, Jin-Hyeon (b. 1990), South Korea

Li, Zhenni (b. 1987), China

Lopatynskyi, Roman (b. 1993), Ukraine

Melemed, Mackenzie (b. 1995), United States

Orth, Kyle (b. 1990), United States

Pan, Anke (b. 1993), Germany

Park, Hyo-Eun (b. 1995), South Korea

Park, Yeon-Min (b. 1990), South Korea

Parkhomenko, Daria (b. 1991), Russia

Peltokoski, Tarmo (b. 2000), Finland

Pierdomenico, Leonardo (b. 1992), Italy

Rajeshkumar, Kausikan (b. 1990), Great Britain

Sarasvathi, Victoria Audrey (b. 1997), Indonesia

Stasevskij, Justas (b. 1989), Finland

Strogiy, Ruslan (b. 1992), Russia

Suh, Hans H. (b. 1990), South Korea

Söderström, Fanny (b. 1993), Finland

Taratushkin, Mark (b. 1990), Russia

Vorotnaya, Anastasia (b. 1995), Russia

Wong, Evan (b. 1990), United States

Yulin, Maria (b. 1988), Israel

Zaitsev, Aleksei (b. 1995), Finland

Zang, Xiaolu (b. 1999), China

Zhang, Fifi (b. 1993), United States

For more information, check out the International Maj Lind Piano Competition’s website at


About Author

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.