Premiere performance of Phillip Glass’s Symphony No 13

Advertisement / Publicité

This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: Francais (French)

Advertisement / Publicité

The National Arts Center Orchestra, conducted by Music Director Alexander Shelley, will perform Symphony No 13 by Phillip Glass at Roy Thomson Hall and the Southam Hall of the National Arts Center in Ottawa on March 30 and April 13-14 respectives. In between these dates, they will premiere the work in the United States at New York’s Carnegie Hall on April 9. This work was commissionned by the orchestra on the theme Truth in Our Time as a tribute to Canadian journalist Peter Jennings. Mr. Jennings was not only a highly respected news anchor for ABC News, he was also a trustee of Carnegie Hall during his years in New York City, the founding director of the American chapter of the Friends of the NAC Orchestra, and served as a lifelong champion of Canadian artists generally. These concerts will also feature works by Montreal-based composer Nicole Lizée (Zeiss after Dark) , Dmitry Schostakovitch (Symphony No 9) and Erich Korngold (Violin Concerto in D Major, with soloist Blake Pouliot).


Date(s) - 30/03/2022
8:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Roy Thomson Hall

Price Range
t.b.a. / À déterminer

Event Artists
National Arts Center Orchestra, Alexander Shelly, conductor; Blake Pouliot: solo violin

Phone Number

Event Website

Event Facebook



  • Concert
  • Classification of ensemble/soloist none

    Loading Map....

    This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: Francais (French)


    About Author

    Leave A Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.