Newswire | 2023 Molson Prizes Awarded to Joséphine Bacon and Françoise Baylis

Advertisement / Publicité

This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: Francais (French)

The Molson Prizes are awarded to two people—one in the arts and the other in the social sciences and humanities—who have distinguished themselves through their outstanding achievements. The prizes are funded by an endowment from the Molson Foundation and are administered in collaboration with the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC).

The winners are:

Joséphine Bacon

Advertisement / Publicité

Photo: Benoit Rochon

Innu poet, filmmaker and speaker, Joséphine Bacon is a beacon of Quebec literature and a beloved cultural ambassador for First Nations. She is awarded the Molson Prize for the arts for her outstanding literary and artistic work.



Françoise Baylis

Photo: Nick Pearce, Dalhousie University

Bioethicist, professor and philosopher, renowned for her academic research in healthcare ethics, Françoise Baylis is awarded the Molson Prize for social sciences and humanities for her remarkable career.




They will each receive a $50,000 prize.

The Canada Council for the Arts contributes to the vibrancy of a creative and diverse arts and literary scene and supports its presence across Canada and around the world. The Council is Canada’s public arts funder.

This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: Francais (French)


About Author

LSM Newswire is La Scena's Newswire service. Organizations can post a press release on our website for a fee. See the media kit at our advertising page at

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.