National Arts Center: Stray Birds at the Fourth (Livestream)

Advertisement / Publicité

This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: Francais (French)

Advertisement / Publicité

NACO at the Fourth presents the world premiere of Alison Yun-Fei Jiang’s Stray Birds, a two-fold musical flight evoking birds taking wing and the impact of Covid-19 on people who were forced to stay or return home. This evocative new work is Alison’s first commission as one of the NAC’s two Carrefour composers.

Kevin Lau is one of Canada’s most versatile and sought-after composers, and a favourite of NAC audiences. His The Garden of Endless Sleep imagines “a garden that moves through time, flickering between present, past, and future…a cultivated slice of natural beauty through various stages of growth and decay.”

  • KEVIN LAU In the Garden of Endless Sleep for oboe and piano
  • ALISON YUN-FEI JIANG Stray Birds for wind quintet
  • BEACH Pastorale for wind quintet, Op. 151
  • SAMUEL BARBER Summer Music
  • POULENC Trio for oboe, bassoon and piano


Date(s) - 16/11/2021
8:00 pm - 9:30 pm

National Arts Center

Price Range

Event Artists
Joanna G’froerer: flute; Charles Hamann: hautbois; Kimball Sykes: clarinette; Christopher Millard: bassoon; Lawrence Vine: French Horn; Frédéric Lacroix: piano

Phone Number

Event Website

Event Facebook



  • Performance
  • Classification of ensemble/soloist

    • Classical music
    • Wind ensemble
    • Loading Map....

      This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: Francais (French)


      About Author

      Leave A Reply

      This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.