Blake Pouliot and Yannick Nézet-Séguin


This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: Francais (French)

Advertisement / Publicité

It is said that art is not created in a vacuum, and the pieces on this concert’s program are no exception. Inspired by Plato’s Symposium, Bernstein’s Serenade is a bravura piece scored for solo violin. Performed by soloist-in-residence Blake Pouliot, the piece showcases the violinist’s subtle and rich virtuosity. The influence of yet another legendary figure, Beethoven, comes through in both Brahms’s symphony and the opening piece by Carlos Simon.

For many years, Brahms was unable to write a symphony, afraid that it wouldn’t live up to Beethoven’s legacy. But with Symphony No. 1, the composer conquered his fear to pen a powerful and triumphant work. African American composer Carlos Simon also takes a cue from the German master, drawing inspiration from the second movement of Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony in Fate Now Conquers. Composed in 2020, the work gets the concert off to an engaging and dynamic start.

Date(s) - 12/03/2021 - 21/03/2021
2:00 pm - 11:59 pm

En ligne / Online

Price Range

Event Artists
Orchestre Métropolitain de Montréal, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor, Blake Pouliot, violin.

Phone Number
514-842-2112 / Sans frais (Toll free): 1-866-842-2112

Event Website

Event Facebook



  • Performance
  • Classification of ensemble/soloist none

    Loading Map....

    This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: Francais (French)


    About Author

    Leave A Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.