Éditorial

0
La Scena Musicale's Discovery Box

Spécial Opéra

En novembre 2013, notre enquête sur les nouvelles compagnies d’opéra indépendantes avait révélé l’existence de huit organisations naissantes. La plupart d’entre elles ont survécu et sont encore florissantes, et leur exemple a inspiré plus de jeunes chanteurs à se regrouper. Cette année, notre enquête en a répertorié 36.

Depuis quarante ans, le Tapestry Opera de Toronto se fait le champion de l’opéra contemporain. Résultat ? La compagnie n’est plus émergente et n’est plus indépendante, comme l’a découvert Arthur Kaptainis. La seule nouvelle organisation, peut-être, à échapper au qualificatif d’émergente est la compagnie Against the Grain, âgée de 10 ans, qui a fait les manchettes avec une tournée nationale de La Bohème en anglais contemporain, version retransmise en streaming par CBC Gem. En septembre 2018, dans notre numéro spécial sur la mélodie, j’avais proposé de revitaliser cette forme d’art. Les mélodies devraient être interprétées dans la langue du public et je pense la même chose pour l’opéra : les opéras devraient être chantés dans la langue du public, comme cela se faisait au début du XXe siècle. Le cofondateur d’Against the Grain, Joel Ivany nous parle de sa façon de procéder, lui qui a traduit six opéras.

Le problème de l’auditoire à l’opéra est un problème récurrent. La réponse qu’apporte l’Opéra de Montréal cette saison est double : promouvoir des talents internationaux et déplacer la représentation du deuxième samedi soir en matinée le dimanche. Je ne suis pas sûr de l’effet bénéfique de ce changement d’horaire, à en juger par le petit nombre de spectateurs en cette première d’Eugène Onéguine en matinée du dimanche. Ce qui retient particulièrement l’attention à la Canadian Opera Company, c’est le fait de renommer Ping, Pang et Pong en Jim, Bob et Bill, suggestion du comité sur l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion de la COC. Il est vrai que Ping, Pang et Pong ont une connotation raciste. Ayant grandi au Canada, j’ai toujours entendu « Ding, Dang et Dong ». Je réagis à tout cela par un haussement d’épaules : nous, Chinois, avons l’habitude de répondre à l’adversité par un sourire. Toujours dans le monde de l’opéra, les avis sont partagés sur les comportements répréhensibles qu’auraient eus les ténors Plácido Domingo et Vittorio Grigolo, mais tous, sans exception, pleurent la disparition de la soprano américaine Jessye Norman, à qui la mezzo-soprano canadienne Susan Platts rend hommage dans ce numéro.

En couverture de l’édition française, Frédéric Antoun, un des rares ténors canadiens qui fait une carrière internationale. Adrian Rodriguez l’a rencontré pour en apprendre plus sur la nouvelle direction de sa carrière et de sa voix. On parlait déjà, il y a dix ans, de ces mezzo-sopranos canadiennes qui se faisaient un nom sur la scène internationale, où elles brillent toujours. La relève semble assurée avec un trio dont on entend de plus en plus parler, la native d’Ottawa Wallis Giunta, la Montréalaise Rihab Chaieb et la Torontoise Emily D’Angelo, qui fait la une de notre édition anglaise.

Nous avons rencontré Grégoire Legendre de l’Opéra de Québec, qui a récemment annoncé sa retraite l’année prochaine, ainsi qu’Alain Nonat dont le gala Jeunes Ambassadeurs Lyriques est un magnifique tremplin pour les jeunes chanteurs; nous republions un de nos articles sur Pauline Vaillancourt, qui vient de remporter un Prix du Québec. Enfin j’ai rencontré Gino Quilico qui nous révèle ses six règles pour bien chanter.

Musique Chorale

La fin du mois de novembre marque un apogée de la musique chorale alors que beaucoup de chœurs nous présentent leur concert des fêtes de fin d’année. Notre journaliste invité Iwan Edwards nous parle de sa trajectoire, débutant au pays de Galles et se poursuivant par une brillante carrière en musique chorale au Canada, ainsi qu’un petit encadré sur la préparation des chœurs pour l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal. Nous soulignons également le 125e anniversaire du plus vieux chœur au Canada, le Toronto Mendelssohn Choir, ainsi que le 100e anniversaire du plus vieux chœur au Québec, la Société chorale de Saint-Lambert. Le chant choral a été la passion, toute sa vie durant, de la regrettée Holly Higgins Jonas, ancienne membre du CA de LSM; nous publions des extraits de son livre In Their Own Words: Canadian Choral Conductors, pour célébrer le 20e anniversaire de la Chorale Nathaniel Dett.

Arts visuels

Le magazine La SCENA arts de ce mois de novembre comprend un mini-spécial sur les arts visuels. Nous avons rencontré la directrice du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, Nathalie Bondil, qui a redonné un nouvel élan au musée. Également des articles sur les sculptures du regretté Dr Harry Rosen, Luc Courchesne, qui a remporté un Prix du Québec, et Stéphane Marceau.

Novembre marque aussi le retour du Guide annuel de l’éducation supérieure de LSM, cette fois dans sa 20e édition. Et toujours vos chroniques habituelles sur la musique, les critiques de CD, la chronique jazz, le calendrier régional et les concerts à venir.

Boutique LSM

Merci à tous nos partenaires qui nous permettent de vous offrir des billets, notamment pour l’Opéra de Montréal, Les Violons du Roy, le pianiste français Lucas Debargue et beaucoup d’autres concerts à venir. Acheter un billet, c’est contribuer au financement de LSM; il y a un rabais de 15 % pour les abonnés de LSM. Visitez www.maSCENA.org ou abonnez-vous à notre infolettre à [email protected]

Je vous souhaite un merveilleux mois de novembre, tout en musique et en arts !

La Scena Musicale - Coffret Découverte
Partager:

A propos de l'auteur

Laissez une réponse

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Editorial

0
La Scena Musicale's Discovery Box

OPERA SPECIAL

Back in November 2013, our survey of new Indie opera companies found eight fledgling organizations. Most have survived and are still thriving, but their example has inspired more young singers to band together. This year’s survey lists 36.

Forty is the number of years Toronto’s Tapestry Opera has championed contemporary opera, and they are fledgling and Indie no more, as Arthur Kaptainis found out. Perhaps the only new organization shedding the fledgling adjective is 10-year-old Against the Grain (AtG), which has made recent news with a national tour of their La Bohème sung in today’s English that was live-streamed by CBC Gem. In September 2018, in our special on Art Song, I proposed to revitalize the art form; art songs should be sung in the language of the audience. I’ll now say the same, that opera should be sung in the local language as well, as was done in the early 1900s. AtG co-founder Joel Ivany tells us about his process in translating six operas.

The crisis in opera attendance is a recurring concern. Opéra de Montréal’s answer this season is to promote international talent and to switch the second Saturday evening for a Sunday matinee. I’m not sure the latter move makes much of a difference judging by the first Sunday matinee (Onegin), but great voices and singing definitely got the crowd buzzing. It seems the buzz at the COC is the renaming of Ping, Pang and Pong to Jim, Bob and Bill at the suggestion of the COC’s Equity, Diversity, and Inclusivity Committee. Indeed, Ping, Pang and Pong is racist; I heard “Ding, Dang, Dong” growing up in Canada. But my reaction is a shrug; we Chinese are used to smiling through adversity. Globally, opinions are mixed on bad tenor behaviour from Plácido Domingo and Vitorio Grigolo, whereas there was unanimous sorrow over the passing of American soprano Jessye Norman. We asked Canadian mezzo-soprano Susan Platts for a tribute.

Our French cover features Montreal’s Frédéric Antoun, who is one of a few Canadian tenors making an international career; Adrian Rodriguez sat down with him to discuss a new trajectory to his voice and career. Ten years ago, the list of international-calibre Canadian mezzo-sopranos included Marie-Nicole Lemieux, Michèle Losier and Julie Boulianne, who are still shining abroad. However, Canada is enjoying a new renaissance for the mezzo. Toronto’s Emily D’Angelo, featured on the English cover, is part of a trio making waves, including Ottawa native Wallis Giunta and Montrealer Rihab Chaieb, whom we also meet in an interview. The topic of #MeToo was not overlooked.

We visit with Opéra de Québec’s Grégoire Legendre, who recently announced his retirement next year; Alain Nonat, whose Jeunes Ambassadeurs Lyriques provide opportunity for young singers, and revisit Pauline Vaillancourt, who recently won a Prix du Québec. Finally, I visit with Gino Quilico, who shares his six rules of singing. 

Choral Music

The end of November is also the time for choral music, as many choirs celebrate the holidays with their fall concerts. Our guest writer Iwan Edwards shares his career trajectory from Wales to a vibrant career in choral music in Canada, including a sidebar on preparing choirs for the Montreal Symphony Orchestra. We also celebrate the 125th anniversary of Canada’s oldest choir, the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir, and the 100th anniversary of Quebec’s oldest, the St. Lambert Choral Society. Choral singing was a lifelong passion of La Scena’s late board member Holly Higgins Jonas and, as a tribute, we publish an excerpt from her book In Their Own Words: Canadian Choral Conductors, to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the Nathaniel Dett Chorale.

Visual Arts

La SCENA arts magazine continues in the November issue with a mini-special on visual arts. We meet the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts’s leader Nathalie Bondil, who has revitalized the museum. Other features include the sculpture of the late Dr. Harry Rosen, Luc Courchesne who won a Prix du Québec and Stéphane Marceau.

November is also La Scena Musicale’s month for Higher Education and our 20th annual Higher Education Guide. Finally, check out our regular features – music coverage, CD reviews, jazz column, regional calendar, and concerts picks.

Subscription Drive & NEW Discovery Box

It’s no secret that the Internet is reshaping the media landscape. Advertising budgets are shifting. This impacts negatively our advertising receipts, which have traditionally accounted for 80% of La Scena’s revenues but have now decreased to 70%. Furthermore, a change in Quebec’s Mécénat Placements-Culture program mean that our three-year grant under Volet 2 will not be renewed, leading to a shortfall in this year’s budget.

We hope that our efforts to present more high-quality content will win your support in the form of a subscription or donation. La Scena has always operated on the non-profit model – a model to which many commercial media are now turning.

La Scena is the only arts magazine in Canada that is fully bilingual and dedicated to serving Canadians across the country. If you subscribe, you receive each issue by mail (we also have an option for weekend Montreal home delivery) with supplementary translations in your preferred language. Every two-year subscription comes with a free commercial CD.

Furthermore, we are launching the NEW La Scena Discovery Box, which will allow customers to discover concerts/events and recordings three times a year; it comes in a $99 package or a premium version at $299. See the article on p. 35 for more details. Any form of contribution is greatly appreciated and will go far in promoting artists here and abroad.

LSM Boutique

Thanks to our partners we have acquired tickets to select classical performances, including those of the Opéra de Montréal, Les Violons du Roy, the acclaimed French pianist Lucas Debargue and many others. We sell these tickets to raise funds; LSM subscribers get a 15% discount. See www.mySCENA.org or sign up for our e-newsletter at [email protected]

Have a great November full of music and the arts!

La Scena Musicale - Coffret Découverte
Share:

About Author

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.