CMIM Announces Piano 2017 International Jury

Advertisement / Publicité

This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: Francais (French)

Montréal, September 28, 2016 – The Concours musical international de Montréal (CMIM) announces the names of its international jury and guest conductor for its piano edition next May 2 to 12.

Presided over by André Bourbeau, CMIM co-founder and president, the 2017 international jury will include Idil Biret from Turkey, Dang Thai Son from Vietnam, Alain Lefèvre from Canada, Hélène Mercier from Canada, Pedja Muzijevic from Bosnia, David Owen Norris from the United Kingdom, Cristina Ortiz from Brazil, R. Douglas Sheldon from the United States, and Gabriel Tacchino from France.

Advertisement / Publicité

The CMIM will also welcome German maestro Claus Peter Flor as guest conductor. He will conduct the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM), artistic partner of the CMIM, to accompany the finalists on May 9 and 10 and the prizewinners on May 12 at the Maison symphonique de Montréal.


The deadline for CMIM 2017 entries is January 14. A preliminary selection committee will determine the 24 pianists who will be invited to Montreal to take part in the CMIM from May 2 to 12 at Bourgie Hall (Montreal Museum of Fine Arts) and Maison symphonique. Travel and accommodation are provided to all selected competitors.

About CMIM

The mission of the Concours musical international de Montréal (CMIM) is to discover and support exceptional young singers, violinists and pianists from around the world. The CMIM is the only international competition in North America to be held annually, presenting three disciplines in a three-year rotation. Since its first edition dedicated to voice in 2002, more than 2,700 hopefuls have entered the competition and some 450 have performed in Montreal, much to the delight of music lovers.

This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: Francais (French)


About Author

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.