NAC orchestra – Haydn, Biss & Beethoven


This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: Francais (French)

  • Conductor: Pinchas Zukerman
  • Pianist: Jonathan Biss


HAYDN Symphony No. 97

MENDELSSOHN Nocturne from A Midsummer Night’s Dream

MENDELSSOHN Scherzo from A Midsummer Night’s Dream

MENDELSSOHN Wedding March from A Midsummer Night’s Dream

BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 5, “Emperor”

It’s always a stellar event when the NAC Orchestra’s beloved director emeritus Pinchas Zukerman returns to the podium of Southam Hall, and this program is no exception.

Felix Mendelssohn wrote the incidental music for a production of Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream just a few years before his death, but this wonderful work lives on, from its serene Nocturne through its sprightly Scherzo to its euphoric Wedding March, embraced by newlyweds the world over.

Lovers of Beethoven will be enthralled as world-renowned pianist Jonathan Biss performs the great composer’s regal “Emperor” Piano Concerto No. 5. The last of Beethoven’s piano concertos, the “Emperor” was written while Vienna was under occupation by the French, and the concerto’s resulting militaristic rhythms and themes of victory reveal a brilliant artist creating in the midst of chaos. This was Beethoven’s final completed piano concerto: the relentless progress of his increasing deafness meant that he never performed it himself, yet it remains one of his most notable and cherished works.



Date(s) - 20/11/2019
8:00 pm

National Arts Centre - Southam Hall

Price Range

Event Artists
National Arts Centre Ottawa

Phone Number
613 947-7000

Event Website

Event Facebook



  • Concert
  • Classification of ensemble/soloist

    • Chambre orchestra
    • Opera
    • Solo piano
    • Loading Map....

      This page is also available in / Cette page est également disponible en: Francais (French)


      About Author

      Leave A Reply

      This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.