Critique de Disques

0

Seiji Ozawa : Retour Sur Une Carrière Passionnante

Bartók: Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta

Concerto for Orchestra. Boston Symphony Orchestra / Seiji Ozawa / Rafael Kubelik. Pentatone PTC 5186247. Durée : 69 min 53 s.

New Year’s Concert 2002

Music by Johann Strauss, Josef Strauss and Josef Hellmesberger. Wiener Philharmoniker / Seiji Ozawa. Arthaus Musik DVD 109315. Durée : 109 min + 32 min (fonctions spéciales).

Haruki Murakami: Absolutely on Music: Conversations with Seiji Ozawa.

New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2016. 325 pages.

En septembre dernier, Seiji Ozawa a célébré son 83e anniversaire. Malgré un cancer sérieux ces dernières années, Ozawa reste actif en tant que chef d’orchestre. L’été prochain, il prévoit diriger un festival Beethoven.

Ozawa entretient une relation spéciale avec Toronto. Il a dirigé ses premiers concerts en 1964, faisant sensation. Il a été immédiatement embauché comme prochain directeur musical de l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto. À l’époque, il avait 28 ans et parlait à peine l’anglais. En interprétant la Symphonie no 5 de Prokofiev et la Symphonie no 5 de Tchaïkovski, Ozawa a produit des concerts inspirés grâce à une technique de direction extraordinairement précise et gracieuse. Il est resté à Toronto pendant quelques années passionnantes, de 1965 à 1969, avant d’être dérobé par l’Orchestre symphonique de Boston, sa maison musicale de longue date.

Ozawa enregistre beaucoup pour Deutsche Grammophon et Philips avec l’Orchestre ­symphonique de Boston. Pentatone a ­rematricé un certain nombre d’enregistrements et les a réédités en CD Super Audio. Une version récente propose Ozawa et le BSO dans la Musique pour cordes, percussion et célesta de Bartók, avec un jeu profondément ­expressif, mais des tempos très lents.

Ozawa a également eu une longue association avec l’Orchestre philharmonique de Vienne. En 2002, il a été invité à diriger son concert annuel du Nouvel An, qui a récemment été réédité en DVD. Ozawa est à son meilleur absolu ici, le public et les musiciens sont aussi charmants que son énergie et sa bonne humeur sont contagieuses. Il dirige le concert entier de mémoire et sans baguette, y compris des pièces aussi obscures que la Valse de l’Ambassadeur du carnaval de Johann Strauss et la polka Die Schwätzerin (La Bavarde) de Josef Strauss. Le concert est un délice du début à la fin.

Haruki Murakami est l’un des principaux romanciers japonais, mais il s’intéresse aussi depuis longtemps à la musique. Il a vécu à Boston pendant plusieurs années et a noué une amitié avec le chef d’orchestre. Murakami a maintenant documenté leurs longues conversations sur la musique. Ozawa n’est pas par nature un homme à analyser la musique – même en japonais – ou la technique. Il préfère simplement « en faire » plutôt que d’en parler. Néanmoins, il y a quelques bonnes anecdotes. Ozawa a beaucoup à dire sur les différents enregistrements de Glenn Gould du Concerto pour piano no 3 de Beethoven, respectivement ­dirigés par Karajan et Bernstein. Ozawa raconte aussi l’enregistrement de Das Lied von der Erde de Mahler avec Jessye Norman et Ben Heppner. Heppner utilisa un pupitre pour la prestation. Dans un passage, Ozawa agita les bras avec une telle exubérance qu’il attrapa de la main le rebord du pupitre de Heppner – et se cassa le petit doigt ! Ozawa serra les dents tout le reste du spectacle avant de se rendre à ­l’hôpital pour subir une intervention chirurgicale.

Un gala à Hambourg – Inauguration de la Philharmonie de l’Elbe

Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Grand Opening Concert. Musique par plusieurs compositeurs. Chœur NDR et Chœur de la Radio bavaroise, Orchestre symphonique de la NDR, dir. Thomas Hengelbrock. Documentaire en prime : Philharmonie de l’Elbe – le nouveau site de Hambourg. Disque Blu-ray 741504. Durée : 165 min.

La nouvelle Philharmonie de l’Elbe à Hambourg a reçu beaucoup ­d’attention lors de ses concerts inauguraux en janvier dernier. La salle de concert, une pièce d’architecture extraordinaire, est construite au sommet d’un entrepôt de briques rouges dans le port animé de Hambourg. La structure domine son environnement aussi sûrement que l’Opéra de Sydney représente maintenant son port. Le Grand Hall occupe le milieu de la section de verre au sommet de l’entrepôt. Le public s’assoit dans une série de paliers distribués asymétriquement autour de la salle.

Thomas Hengelbrock, le directeur musical de l’Orchestre symphonique de la NDR, a conçu le programme exceptionnellement réfléchi de ce concert. Il s’ouvre avec une pièce pour hautbois solo de Benjamin Britten – le hautbois étant l’instrument qui accorde traditionnellement l’orchestre. Le hautboïste Kalev Kuljus joue de l’arrière et est entendu, mais caché : une manière intelligente d’amener le public à se concentrer sur le son. Le programme continue à présenter des ensembles grands et petits et de la musique de nombreuses périodes. Plusieurs œuvres ont un lien avec Hambourg, par exemple un motet de Praetorius (1586-1651) composé pour un mariage. Le concert se ­termine par une célébration du mouvement choral de la Neuvième de Beethoven.

Le disque comprend à la fois un documentaire et le spectacle de lumière extérieur qui a eu lieu pendant le concert.

Les Ballets de Tchaïkovski – Un festival de son russe

Tchaikovsky: Complete Ballets. James Ehnes, violon. Robert deMaine, violoncelle. Orchestre philharmonique de Bergen / Neeme Järvi. Chandos 5204 (5 CD). Durée : 6 heures 32 minutes.

Voici les trois grands ballets de Tchaïkovski rassemblés en un seul coffret, dans des versions superbes à l’enregistrement exceptionnellement riche et entier. Le Canadien James Ehnes est le brillant violon soliste. L’ensemble ­commémore le 80e anniversaire du chef d’orchestre Neeme Järvi et mérite un accueil chaleureux.

Qu’il s’agisse du Lac des cygnes ou de Casse-Noisette, un chef de ballet n’a d’autre choix que de suivre la tradition. Mais pas pour les concerts. Neeme Järvi a été imprégné par la musique russe depuis qu’il a appris à lire la musique. Il dirige ces partitions de ballet avec un amour évident pour la musique, mais aussi un phrasé expansif et une oreille attentive aux détails.

Dans ces ballets, Tchaïkovski propose une nouvelle idée après l’autre. Les instruments sont déployés avec une compréhension pointue de leur gamme de sons. Les solos de violon dans La Belle au bois dormant et Le Lac des cygnes sont de splendides morceaux en eux-mêmes, indépendamment des ballets. James Ehnes est un grand violoniste et il les joue avec une vigueur magnifique et une technique impeccable.

Il y a eu bien de beaux enregistrements de ces ballets de Tchaïkovski, mais ceux de Chandos sont parmi les meilleurs. Bravo au producteur Brian Pidgeon et à l’ingénieur en chef Ralph Couzens, et au Grieghallen, la belle salle de 1500 places à Bergen où les enregistrements ont été réalisés.

Intégrale des concertos pour violon de Saint-Saëns

Intégrale des concertos pour violon de Saint-Saëns. Concerto pour violon no 1 en la majeur, op. 20. Concerto pour violon no 2 en do majeur, op. 58. Concerto pour violon no 3 en si mineur, op. 61. Andrew Wan, violon. Orchestre symphonique de Montréal / Kent Nagano. Analekta AN 28770. Durée : 74 minutes.

Cet excellent enregistrement de l’OSM mérite le détour. Le Concerto pour violon no 1 de treize minutes constitue à peine un concerto, mais il est charmant et devrait être joué plus souvent. Le Concerto no 2 est beaucoup plus substantiel et presque l’égal du mieux connu Concerto no 3. Le premier mouvement est puissant et complexe avec une cadence pleine de défis techniques. Le second compte des solos importants de harpe et de vents et se situe dans la meilleure veine lyrique de Saint-Saëns. Seule la finale semble un peu légère en comparaison.

Andrew Wan est coviolon solo de l’OSM depuis 2008 et également membre fondateur du Nouveau Quatuor Orford. Il joue brillamment dans les trois concertos, armé d’une technique éblouissante et d’un son voluptueux. Nagano et l’OSM fournissent des accompagnements sensibles et engagés; soliste et chef d’orchestre démontrent une affinité particulière pour le flux et le reflux de ces partitions. Le hautbois principal Theodore Baskin joue avec une grande beauté et un phrasé subtil dans les mouvements lents.

Ces enregistrements ont été réalisés à la Maison symphonique de Montréal. L’acoustique de la salle a permis une merveilleuse qualité sonore. Félicitations aussi au producteur Carl Talbot.

 

Partager:

A propos de l'auteur

Former conductor and broadcaster, Paul E. Robinson, is the author of four books on conductors, Digital Editor for Classical Voice America, Reviews Editor for Musical Toronto, and a regular contributor to La Scena Musicale. To learn more about Paul, visit his website at www.theartoftheconductor.com/news/.

Laissez une réponse

CD Reviews

0

Seiji Ozawa: Looking back at a thrilling career

Bartók: Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta

Concerto for Orchestra. Boston Symphony Orchestra/Seiji Ozawa/Rafael Kubelik. Pentatone PTC 5186247. Time: 69:53.

New Year’s Concert 2002

Music by Johann Strauss, Josef Strauss and Josef Hellmesberger. Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra/Seiji Ozawa. Arthaus Musik DVD 109315. Time: 109:00 + 32:00 (special features).

Haruki Murakami: Absolutely on Music: Conversations with Seiji Ozawa.

New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2016. 325 pages.

This past September Seiji Ozawa celebrated his 83rd birth­day. In spite of a serious cancer in recent years, Ozawa remains active as a conductor.Next sum­­­mer he plans to conduct a Beeth­oven festival.

Ozawa has a special association with Tor­onto. He conducted his first concerts there in 1964, causing a sensation. He was immediately hired as the TSO’s next music director. At the time he was 28 years old and barely spoke a word of English. Con­ducting Prokofiev’s Sym­phony No. 5 and Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5, Ozawa drew in­spir­ed performances via an extra­ordinarily precise and graceful baton technique. He re­mained in Tor­onto for only a few exciting years, 1965-1969, before being snatched away by the Boston Symphony, his long-time musical home.

With the Boston Symphony, Ozawa recorded extensively for Deutsche ­Grammophon and Philips. Pentatone has remastered a number of recordings and reissued them as Super Audio CDs. A recent release ­features Ozawa and the BSO in Bartók’s Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta, with deeply expressive playing but very slow tempos.

Ozawa also had a long association with the Vienna Philharmonic. In 2002 he was invited to conduct its annual New Year’s Concert, and this has recently been reissued on DVD. Ozawa is at his absolute best here, charming musicians and audience alike with his infectious energy and good humour. He conducts without a baton and leads the entire concert from memory, including such obscure pieces as Johann Strauss’ Carnival Ambassador Waltz and Josef Strauss’ polka The Jabbering Woman. The concert is a delight from ­beginning to end.

Haruki Murakami. one of Japan’s leading novelists, has also had a lifelong ­interest in music. He lived in Boston for several years and developed a friendship with the ­conductor. ­Murakami has now documented their long ­conversations about music. Ozawa is not by ­nature a man given to articulate analysis of music — even in Japanese — or of technique. He prefers to just “do it” rather than talk about it. Nonetheless, there are some useful anecdotes. Ozawa has quite a lot to say about Glenn Gould’s different recordings of Beethoven’s Piano ­Concerto No. 3 as ­conducted by Karajan and Bernstein ­respectively. Ozawa also tells a story about ­performance of Mahler’s Das Lied von der Erde with Jessye Norman and Ben Heppner. ­Heppner used a music stand for the ­performance. In one passage Ozawa flailed his arms with such exuberance he caught his little finger under the edge of Heppner’s stand — and broke the finger! Ozawa gritted out the rest of the performance before going to the hospital for surgery.

A Gala in Hamburg — Grand Opening of the Elbphilharmonie

Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Grand Opening Concert. Music by multiple composers. NDR Chorus & Bavarian Radio Chorus. NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester/Thomas Hengelbrock. Bonus Documentary: The Elbphilharmonie — Hamburg’s New Landmark. Blu-ray Disc 741504. Time: 165:00.

The new Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg received much attention during its inaugural concerts this past January. An extraordinary piece of architecture, the concert hall is built on top of a red brick warehouse in Hamburg’s busy port. The structure dominates its surroundings as surely as the Sydney Opera House now signifies its harbour. The Grand Hall occupies the middle of the glass section on top of the warehouse. The audience sits in a series of pods distributed asymmetrically around the hall.

Thomas Hengelbrock is the music director of the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester and the man who put together the unusually thoughtful program for this concert. It opens with a piece for solo oboe by Benjamin Britten — the oboe being the instrument that traditionally tunes the orchestra. Oboist Kalev Kuljus plays from the rear and is heard but not seen: a clever way to have the audience focus on the sound. The program goes on to showcase ensembles large and small and music from many periods. Several pieces have a Hamburg ­connection, e.g. a motet by Praetorius (1586-1651) composed for a wedding. The concert ends with a celebration of the choral ­movement of Beethoven’s Ninth.

The disc includes both a documentary and the ex­ternal light show that blazed during the ­concert.

The Tchaikovsky Ballets: A Russian festival of sound

Tchaikovsky: Swan Lake. The Sleeping Beauty. The Nutcracker. James Ehnes, violin. Robert deMaine, cello. Bergen Philharmonic/Neeme Järvi. Chandos 5204 (5 CDs). Time: 6 hours, 32 minutes.

Here are all three of Tchaikovsky’s great ballet scores gathered ­together in one box, in ­superlative performances with an uncommonly rich and full ­recorded sound. Can­adian James Ehnes is the brilliant violin soloist. The set commemorates conductor Neeme Järvi’s 80th birthday, and it deserves a warm welcome.

When it comes to Swan Lake or The ­Nutcracker, a ballet conductor has little choice but to follow tradition. Not so for concert ­performances. Neeme Järvi has been steeped in Russian music-making from the time he first learned to read music. He ­conducts these ballet scores with obvious love for the music but also with expansive ­phrasing and a keen ear for telling details.

In these ballets Tchaikovsky comes up with one fresh idea after another. Instruments are ­deployed with a keen understanding of their range of sound. The violin solos in The Sleeping Beauty and Swan Lake are beautiful pieces in themselves, quite apart from the ballets. James Ehnes is a grand violinist and he plays them with gorgeous tone and impeccable technique.

There have been many fine recordings of these Tchaikovsky ballet scores, but these Chandos versions are among the best. Congratulations to producer Brian Pidgeon and chief engineer Ralph Couzens and to the Grieghallen, the fine 1,500 seat hall in Bergen where the recordings were made.

Saint-Saëns: the complete Violin Concertos

Saint-Saëns: Violin Concertos (complete). Violin Concerto No. 1 in A major Op. 20. Violin Concerto No. 2 in C major Op. 58. Violin Concerto No. 3 in B minor Op. 61. Andrew Wan, violin. Orchestra symphonique de Montréal/Kent Nagano. Analekta AN 28770. Total Time: 74:04.

This is a terrific recording from the OSM and deserves attention. The Violin ­Concerto No. 1 is only thirteen minutes long and is barely a concerto at all. But it is charming and ought to be played more often. The Concerto No. 2 is much more ­substantial and almost the equal of the better-known Concerto No. 3. The first movement is a powerful and complex movement with a ­cadenza full of technical challenges. The second movement with prominent harp and wind solos is in Saint-Saëns’ best lyrical vein. Only the ­finale seems a little lightweight in comparison.

Andrew Wan has been co-concertmaster of the OSM since 2008 and is also a founding member of the New Orford Quartet. He plays brilliantly in all three concertos with dazzling technique and a voluptuous tone. Nagano and the OSM provide sensitive and committed ­accompaniments; soloist and conductor demonstrate a special affinity for the ideal ebb and flow of these scores. Principal oboe Theodore Baskin plays with great beauty and subtlety of phrasing in the several slow movements.

These performances were recorded live in the Montreal’s Maison symphonique. The hall’s acoustics enabled the marvellous sound quality, with kudos as well to producer Carl Talbot.

 

Share:

About Author

Former conductor and broadcaster, Paul E. Robinson, is the author of four books on conductors, Digital Editor for Classical Voice America, Reviews Editor for Musical Toronto, and a regular contributor to La Scena Musicale. To learn more about Paul, visit his website at www.theartoftheconductor.com/news/.

Leave A Reply