Critique de disque : CRAZY GIRL CRAZY

0
CRAZY GIRL CRAZY
Berio : Sequenza III. Berg : Lulu-Suite. Gershwin : Girl Crazy Suite (par Bill Elliott et Barbara Hannigan). Barbara Hannigan, soprano et chef d’orchestre. Ludwig Orchestra. Alpha Classics 293. Durée: 57 min 23 s.

À 47 ans, la soprano canadienne Barbara Hannigan est devenue une vedette internationale, appréciée pour ses opéras tels que Lulu de Berg, Written on Skin de George Benjamin, Die Soldaten de Bernd Alois Zimmermann, Writing to Vermeer de Louis Andriessen et, notamment, un extrait du Grand Macabre de Ligeti, qu’elle a à la fois chanté et dirigé. Ici, elle chante et dirige Berio, Berg et Gershwin.

Sans doute moins porté sur la musique que sur toutes sortes d’expressions vocales extraordinaires, Sequenza III de Luciano Berio a été écrit en 1965 pour Cathy Berberian (1925-1983). Hannigan – la Berberian de sa génération – fait de ce travail (transposé jusqu’à la gamme soprano) un éblouissement de pyrotechnie vocale. Dans Lulu, elle chante la chanson de Lulu ainsi que les quelques lignes de la comtesse Gershwitz après le meurtre. L’orchestre s’occupe seul du cri, l’un des accords les plus sanglants de la musique.

Comme Hannigan le rappelle dans les notes du livret, Lulu et Girl Crazy ont tous deux été écrits en 1929-30. Plus que cela, Gershwin avait rencontré Berg à Vienne en 1928 ! Dans ce contexte, Hannigan demande à Bill Elliott d’inclure Lulu ainsi que des allusions à la musique de Mahler, Weill, Ligeti et Claude Vivier dans son arrangement d’extraits de la comédie musicale de Gershwin. Malgré la dissonance, les références et les rythmes décalés, ce qui émerge est une interprétation très originale de chansons familières comme But Not for Me, Embraceable You et I Got Rhythm. Fondé aux Pays-Bas en 2013, le Ludwig Orchestra joue avec style et enthousiasme. Hannigan lance facilement les parties vocales de haut vol. Je ne suis pas surpris que l’album ait été retenu pour un Grammy. Un court DVD de séquences de répétitions met en évidence les capacités de Hannigan en tant que chef d’orchestre. PR

À noter : une version légèrement différente de cette critique a été publiée récemment par Classical Voice North America sur son site Web www.classicalvoiceamerica.org

Traduit par Mélissa Brien

Partager:

A propos de l'auteur

Former conductor and broadcaster, Paul E. Robinson, is the author of four books on conductors, Digital Editor for Classical Voice America, Reviews Editor for Musical Toronto, and a regular contributor to La Scena Musicale. To learn more about Paul, visit his website at www.theartoftheconductor.com/news/.

Laissez une réponse

CD Review: CRAZY GIRL CRAZY

0
CRAZY GIRL CRAZY
Berio: Sequenza III. Berg: Lulu Suite. Gershwin: Girl Crazy Suite (arr. Bill Elliott & Barbara Hannigan). Barbara Hannigan, soprano and conductor. Ludwig Orchestra. Alpha Classics 293. Total Time: 57:23.

At 47, the Canadian soprano Barbara Hannigan has emerged as an international star, praised for her work in such operas as Berg’s Lulu, George Benjamin’s Written on Skin, Bernd Alois Zimmermann’s Die Soldaten, Louis Andriessen’s Writing to Vermeer and, notably, an excerpt from Ligeti’s Le Grand Macabre, which she both sang and conducted. Here she sings and conducts Berio, Berg and Gershwin.

Arguably less about music than all manner of extraordinary vocal utterances, Luciano Berio’s Sequenza III was written in 1965 for Cathy Berberian (1925-1983). Hannigan – the Berberian of her generation – makes this work (transposed up to soprano range) a dazzling display of vocal pyrotechnics. In Lulu, she sings Lulu’s song as well as Countess Gershwitz’s few lines after the murder. The orchestra alone deals with the scream, one of the most blood-curdling chords in music.

As Hannigan reminds us in her booklet notes, Lulu and Girl Crazy were both written in 1929-30. More than that, Gershwin had met Berg in Vienna in 1928! Against this background, Hannigan asked Bill Elliott to include Lulu as well as allusions to music by Mahler, Weill, Ligeti and Claude Vivier in his arrangement of excerpts from the Gershwin musical. Despite the dissonance, the references and the quirky rhythms, what emerges is a highly original take on familiar songs like “But Not for Me,” “Embraceable You” and “I Got Rhythm.” Founded in the Netherlands in 2013, the Ludwig Orchestra plays with style and gusto. Hannigan tosses off the high-flying vocal parts with ease. I am not surprised that the album has been nominated for a Grammy. A short DVD of rehearsal footage makes clear Hannigan’s abilities as a conductor. PR

Note: a slightly different version of this review was published recently by Classical Voice North America on its website (www.classicalvoiceamerica.org).

Share:

About Author

Former conductor and broadcaster, Paul E. Robinson, is the author of four books on conductors, Digital Editor for Classical Voice America, Reviews Editor for Musical Toronto, and a regular contributor to La Scena Musicale. To learn more about Paul, visit his website at www.theartoftheconductor.com/news/.

Leave A Reply