Critique de Disque – Stravinski : Chant funèbre, Feu d’artifice, Scherzo fantastique, Le Faune et la bergère, Le Sacre du printemps

0
Stravinski : Chant funèbre, Feu d’artifice, Scherzo fantastique, Le Faune et la bergère, Le Sacre du printemps
Orchestre du festival de Lucerne. Riccardo Chailly, chef d’orchestre. Sophie Koch, mezzo. Decca 028948325627. Durée : 70 min 35 s

Ce premier enregistrement d’un Stravinski perdu a une histoire fabuleuse. En 1908, le jeune Igor, inconnu et dans la mi-vingtaine, écrit une ode funèbre à son professeur, Nikolaï Rimski-Korsakov. La musique est jouée aux obsèques de Rimski, puis apparemment perdue, jusqu’à ce que les partitions soient retrouvées en 2015 dans des archives de Saint-Pétersbourg. Valeri Guerguiev a acquis les droits de donner la première prestation moderne, tandis que Decca a obtenu les droits d’enregistrement. À la première écoute, il est difficile de reconnaître Stravinski. On pourrait confondre les cordes scintillantes et les bois abaissés avec l’écriture de Sibelius ou Richard Strauss. Mais lorsque le basson émet une ligne courte, l’empreinte de Stravinski apparaît. Les trois grands ballets frémissent ensuite sous la surface. Cela dit, ce travail précoce, doux et affectueux, offre de nombreux plaisirs simples.

Deux autres œuvres de jeunesse, Feu d’artifice (op. 4) et Scherzo fantastique (op. 3) et un triptyque de chansons orchestrales nous mènent au plat de résistance de l’album, Le Sacre du printemps. Cette prestation immaculée de Riccardo Chailly et de l’Orchestre du festival de Lucerne évite la brutalité habituelle. Leur Sacre est un rituel plus religieux, moins violent, une convocation spirituelle aux danses déjantées. L’approche de Chailly fait un contraste rafraîchissant à la rudesse russe, une lecture alternative d’un chef-d’œuvre moderniste. Les solos instrumentaux sont élégants et sereins. Le bassoniste anonyme mérite un prix Nobel. NL

 

Traduit par Mélissa Brien

Partager:

A propos de l'auteur

Norman Lebrecht is a prolific writer on music and cultural affairs. His blog, Slipped Disc, is one of the most popular sites for cultural news. He presents The Lebrecht Interview on BBC Radio 3 and is a contributor to several publications, including the Wall Street Journal and The Standpoint. Visit every Friday for his weekly CD review.

Laissez une réponse

CD Review – Stravinsky: Chant Funèbre, Fireworks, Scherzo fantastique, Le Faune et la Bergère, The Rite of Spring.

0
Stravinsky: Chant Funèbre, Fireworks, Scherzo fantastique, Le Faune et la Bergère, The Rite of Spring.
Lucerne Festival Orchestra. Riccardo Chailly, conductor. Sophie Koch, mezzo. Decca 028948325627. Total Time: 70:35.

This premiere release of a lost Stravinsky has a fabulous back story. In 1908 the young Igor, unknown and in his mid-20s, wrote a funeral ode for his teacher, Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov. The music was played at Rimsky’s obsequies and then apparently lost, until the parts turned up in 2015 in a St. Petersburg archive. Valery Gergiev won the rights to give the first modern performance, while Decca won the recording rights. On first hearing, you can hardly tell that it’s Stravinsky. The shimmering strings and lowing woodwinds could be mistaken for Sibelius or Richard Strauss. But once the bassoon utters a short line, the Stravinsky thumbprint pops up. The three great ballets then simmer below the surface. That said, this gentle, affectionate early work offers many simple pleasures of its own.

Two more student works, Fireworks (Op. 4) and Scherzo fantastique (Op. 3), and a triptych of orchestral songs, lead us into the main course of the album, The Rite of Spring. This immaculate performance by Riccardo Chailly and the Lucerne Festival Orchestra eschews the usual brutality. Their Rite is more religious ritual, less mass rape, a spiritual convocation with some crazy dancing. Chailly’s approach is a refreshing contrast to Russian roughness, an alternative reading of a modernist masterpiece. The instrumental soliloquies are elegant and serene. The unnamed bassoonist deserves a Nobel Prize. NL

Share:

About Author

Norman Lebrecht is a prolific writer on music and cultural affairs. His blog, Slipped Disc, is one of the most popular sites for cultural news. He presents The Lebrecht Interview on BBC Radio 3 and is a contributor to several publications, including the Wall Street Journal and The Standpoint. Visit every Friday for his weekly CD review.

Leave A Reply