Windermere String Quartet: Inner Landscapes (Pipistrelle Music)

0

Inner Landscapes
Windermere String Quartet. Elizabeth Loewen Andrews, violon; Michelle Odorico, violon; Anthony Rapoport, alto; Laura Jones, violoncelle
Pipistrelle Music, PIP 1216, 71 min 22 s.

Inner Lanscapes montre à quel point le Windermere String Quartet a évolué depuis ses débuts en 2012 avec The Golden Age of String Quartets, un disque d’œuvres des grands maîtres classiques, Haydn, Mozart et Beethoven. Le nouvel album comprend une commande au compositeur canadien Robert Rival, Traces of a Silent Landscape, qui s’inspire des quatuors de Beethoven et Mendelssohn également au programme. Le quatuor joue sur des instruments anciens de la période classique, d’un ton plus léger, sans doute, mais non moins capables d’expression.

L’album s’ouvre en territoire familier avec le Quatuor no 11 en fa mineur op. 95 de Beethoven. C’est le seul quatuor auquel il a donné un nom, « Quartetto Serioso ». Le Windermere est en grande forme ici, offrant une vision dramatique claire et un enchaînement habile des gestes qui forment chaque mouvement. Inspiré par les randonnées en raquettes dans le parc Algonquin, Traces of a Silent Landscape en quatre mouvements de Rival commence dans une texture fuguée mesurée – plus évocatrice des fugues des romantiques que de Bach (les quatuors de Beethoven et de Mendelssohn comptent eux aussi des mouvements fugués lents) – menant à une longue apothéose. Chaque mouvement explore un aspect de la tranquillité hivernale dans la nature. C’est bien écrit et certainement digne d’être entendu. Le Quatuor en la mineur op. 13 de Mendelssohn, comme beaucoup de ses œuvres, est fortement influencé par Beethoven. Ici, l’Adagio ressort par son traitement subtil des couleurs et des textures.

Si tout est acceptable dans ce disque, et les beaux moments ne manquent certes pas, quelques petites choses lui valent trois étoiles et non quatre. Plus particulièrement, le produit final aurait pu être plus soigné, avec des attaques plus nettes et une intonation plus immaculée.

60%
60%
  • 3
  • User Ratings (0 Votes)
    0
Partager:

A propos de l'auteur

Kiersten van Vliet was the Web Editor and an Editorial Assistant for La Scena Musicale from 2015–17.

Laissez une réponse

Windermere String Quartet: Inner Landscapes (Pipistrelle Music)

0

Inner Landscapes
Windermere String Quartet; Elizabeth Loewen Andrews, violin; Michelle Odorico, violin; Anthony Rapoport, viola; Laura Jones, cello
Pipistrelle Music, PIP 1216, 71 min 22 s.

With Inner Lanscapes, the Windermere String Quartet shows how far they’ve come since their 2012 debut The Golden Age of String Quartets, which featured the Classical masters: Beethoven, Haydn, and Mozart. This disc features a commission by Canadian composer Robert Rival, Traces of a Silent Landscape, which was inspired by the Beethoven and Mendelssohn quartets on either side. The group plays on Classical period instruments, a bit lighter in tone perhaps, but no less capable of expression.

The album opens on familiar territory with Beethoven’s Quartet No. 11 in F minor, op. 95. It’s the only quartet that he gave a name, “Quartetto Serioso.” The Windermere Quartet is in fine form here with a clear dramatic vision and dexterous pacing of the gestures that form each movement. Inspired by snowshoeing in Algonquin Park, Rival’s four-movement Traces of a Silent Landscape begins with a measured fugal texture – more evocative of the fugues of the Romantics than Bach (both the Beethoven and Mendelssohn quartets have fugal slow movements) – with a long climax. Each movement explores an aspect of wintery stillness in nature. It’s effective writing and definitely worth a listen. Mendelssohn’s Quartet in A minor op. 13, like many of his works, was heavily influenced by Beethoven. Here, the Adagio stands out for the subtle treatment of colours and textures.

While everything was acceptable on the recording, and there were quite a few lovely moments, a few things separate this three-star from a four, namely the final cut could have done with a little more polish: crisper attacks and more immaculate intonation.

60%
60%
  • 3
  • User Ratings (0 Votes)
    0
Share:

About Author

Kiersten van Vliet was the Web Editor and an Editorial Assistant for La Scena Musicale from 2015–17.

Leave A Reply