Marina Thibeault : Toquade (ATMA)

0

Toquade
Marina Thibeault, alto; Janelle Fung, piano
ATMA 2017. ACD2 2759, 66 min 58 s.

Dès le premier enregistrement de sa carrière, l’altiste Marina Thibeault sait conjuguer fougue et sentimentalisme, tradition et innovation, accessibilité et abstraction. Elle nous livre un plaidoyer senti et convaincant de la portée du répertoire et de l’instrument. Thibeault possède un doigté admirable alliant fermeté du style et sensibilité et sait tirer de son instrument des sons qui se métamorphosent en idées. L’album commence par la Valse sentimentale, des Six morceaux op. 51 de Tchaïkovski. La transcription de la pièce, écrite à l’origine pour le piano, met en relief les thèmes binaires – le timbre sombre de l’alto marié au phrasé souple de Thibeault et Fung évoque le vertige du temps suspendu. Le duo nous fait remonter le temps de plusieurs décennies en interprétant, non sans une touche de raffinement, la Sonate pour alto et piano, composée par Mikhaïl Glinka dans la jeune vingtaine. Le mouvement, Allegro moderato – isolé, de façon posthume, de la sonate inachevée pour devenir une œuvre à part entière – est construit sur des approches traditionnelles, mais démontre une sensibilité à l’écriture pour alto propre à Glinka.

L’album comporte quelques pièces pour alto solo : la sonate op. 31 no 4 de Paul Hindemith, le Prélude d’Ana Sokolović, Toquade de Jean Lesage et Rubato et Agitato de Milan Kymlička. Mis à part l’œuvre de Hindemith, un incontournable dans la formation de tout altiste digne de ce nom, les pièces de l’album ont été composées pour Thibeault, sauf le Prélude de Sokolović auquel l’altiste donne un nouveau souffle. L’interprétation de l’œuvre de Hindemith par Marina Thibeault, impeccable, exécutée avec une grande clarté, dénote une maturité admirable vu son âge. Le Prélude de Sokolović, d’inspiration tzigane, cristallise le caractère méditatif de l’instrument, une facette que Thibeault sait manier de main de maître. D’ailleurs, dans les notes accompagnant la pièce, la compositrice n’hésite pas à écrire : « Mon écriture pour l’alto n’est plus la même depuis ma rencontre avec elle. »

Fortement influencée par l’époque baroque, la pièce-titre de l’album, Toquade, démontre l’extraordinaire virtuosité de Thibeault. Cet exploit est d’autant plus impressionnant sachant qu’elle joue sur un alto fabriqué en 1854 par Jean-Baptiste Vuillaume, de plus grande taille. Dédiée à Marina Thibeault et interprétée en première mondiale peu avant le décès du compositeur en 2008, la courte pièce de Kymlička ne manque pas de mordant. Le Rubato, une sombre rêverie, s’articule autour des cordes à vide de l’alto tandis que l’Agitato tire profit de la dynamique tensionnelle inhérente aux intervalles causés par les demi-tons. Pour couronner le tout, la Sonate no 1 pour alto et piano de Bohuslav Martinů révèle tout le lyrisme de Thibeault, tirant parti d’un ample vibrato, ainsi que sa sonorité riche et profonde. J’aurais aimé que Fung soit plus présente dans le mixage sonore – si ce n’est que pour mieux apprécier la collaboration remarquable de ce duo. De premier abord, le mélange des époques et des compositeurs peut sembler éclectique. Or, l’album est à la mesure de l’artiste; elle y exprime sa sensibilité à la vision de chaque compositeur sans sacrifier sa propre voix.

Traduction par Lina Scarpellini

100%
100%
  • 5
  • User Ratings (0 Votes)
    0
Partager:

A propos de l'auteur

Kiersten van Vliet was the Web Editor and an Editorial Assistant for La Scena Musicale from 2015–17.

Laissez une réponse

Marina Thibeault: Toquade (ATMA)

0

Toquade
Marina Thibeault, viola; Janelle Fung, piano
ATMA 2017. ACD2 2759, 66 min 58 s.

With the first recording of her career, violist Marina Thibeault strikes a balance ­between spirited and sentimental, tradition and innovation, accessibility and abstraction, leaving us with a clear and compelling understanding of the breadth of both the repertoire and the instrument itself. Thibeault has a sensitive but firm touch, painting long lines in which sounds become ideas. The disc opens with the Valse sentimentale from Tchaikovsky’s Six Pieces Op. 51. The transcription of the piece, originally written for piano, highlights the thematic binaries – the dark timbre of the viola combined with Thibeault and Fung’s flexible phrasing gives an aching sense of suspended time. Stepping back several decades with Mikhail Glinka’s Sonata in D minor for viola and piano, the duo finds sophistication in a work written when the composer was only in his early twenties. The movement, Allegro moderato – which posthumously became isolated from the incomplete sonata to become a standalone piece – is an exercise in a traditional Classical form, but also exhibits an idiomatic sensibility to the viola unique to Glinka.

The centre selections of the recording are for solo viola: Hindemith’s Sonata Op. 31 no. 4, Ana Sokolović’s Prelude, Jean Lesage’s Toquade, and Milan Kymlička’s Rubato e Agitato. Aside from the Hindemith, which is required learning for any violist worth their salt, the pieces either are composed for Thibeault herself, or, as in the case of the Sokolović, gained new life in her hands. Throughout the Hindemith, Thibeault maintains an exceptional diction and clarity of tone, exhibiting maturity well beyond her years. Sokolović’s gypsy-influenced Prelude captures the more meditative side of the instrument, an aspect that Thibeault manipulates with ease. Indeed, as the composer writes in the notes to the piece, “My viola writing has not been the same since I met her.”

Heavily influenced by the Baroque period, the title track, Toquade, is the perfect demonstration of Thibeault’s dexterity and facility up and down the fingerboard. This feat is made all the more impressive with the knowledge that her 1854 Jean-Baptiste Vuillaume viola is on the larger side. Dedicated to Thibeault and premiered shortly before the composer’s death in 2008, Kymlička’s short work packs a fairly emotional punch, the Rubato a dark reverie centred around the open strings of the viola while the Agitato makes use of the inherent tension in semitone relationships. The CD is capped off with Bohuslav Martinů’s Sonata No. 1 for Viola and Piano, in which Thibeault demonstrates her characteristic lyricism and colourful sound palette, drawing on a broad vibrato. For this work, I wish Fung were more present in the sound mix – if only to better appreciate their outstanding collaborative relationship. At first glance, the mix of periods and composers on this recording may feel eclectic, but the album coheres around Thibeault’s sensitivity to each composer’s ­vision without sacrificing her personal voice.

100%
100%
  • 5
  • User Ratings (1 Votes)
    4.8
Share:

About Author

Kiersten van Vliet is the Web Editor and an Editorial Assistant for La Scena Musicale. A current MA musicology student at McGill University, her research on Quebec composer-pianist and child prodigy André Mathieu (1929–68) is funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC). Kiersten earned her BMus in Music History from Western University Canada as well as an Artist’s Diploma in Violin Performance. Other interests include conducting, chamber music, and musical theatre. Kiersten served as an Editor-in-Chief for Nota Bene: Canadian Undergraduate Journal of Musicology at Western University from 2012–14.

Leave A Reply