Festival Classica 2018 : Une Fête Mobile pour tous les Goûts Musicaux

0

On décompresse, on pense classique – cela pourrait être le mantra culturel de la ville de Saint-Lambert ce printemps alors que, du 25 mai au 16 juin, la 8e édition du Festival Classica déploiera son éventail éclectique et éblouissant de rythmes et sonorités. Le titre du Festival nous promet toutes sortes de choses, « de Schubert aux Stones ». Eh oui, il s’agit bien de Franz Schubert et des Rolling Stones.

Chacun y trouvera son compte musical !

Le fondateur et directeur artistique Marc Boucher est fier de l’incroyable popularité et de l’essor fulgurant, sur une courte période de temps, de l’événement. L’idée du festival lui est venue dans ce lieu auguste qu’est le château de Versailles. Alors qu’il assistait à un concert au Centre de musique baroque de la Chapelle royale de Versailles, Boucher a vu une analogie entre « la proximité de tous ces petits théâtres à Versailles et la suite ininterrompue de concerts » et ce qu’il pensait pouvoir être réalisé, vu le nombre de lieux potentiels dans sa ville natale de Saint-Lambert.

Baryton classique expérimenté lui-même, Boucher a vendu l’idée du festival aux dirigeants et responsables locaux en 2008 et la première édition a eu lieu en 2011. Depuis, le Festival Classica est devenu, selon les mots de Boucher, « un des plus importants festivals urbains consacrés à la musique classique en Amérique du Nord ». Cette année, il attend quelque 100 000 amateurs de musique avec 60 événements, du concert intime au concert populaire et de la musique de chambre à la musique symphonique, y compris au moins six importantes prestations musicales et vocales par des artistes de renommée internationale.

Boucher lui-même se produira comme baryton-basse dans deux œuvres exquises du répertoire religieux dans une soirée Musique sacrée et découverte (5 juin, 19 h, église Sainte-Famille). Au programme, la Messe du couronnement de Mozart et, en première nord-américaine, l’oratorio en 12 mouvements Christi Auferstehung (Résurrection du Christ) de Sigismund Neukomm, le prolifique et injustement méconnu compositeur autrichien, qui fut l’élève et l’admirateur de Haydn. Au pupitre, le renommé chef français Jean-Claude Malgoire.

Pour commémorer le 100e anniversaire du décès de Claude Debussy, Boucher prévoit une présentation concert de Pelléas et Mélisande. « [C’est] la première fois dans un opéra où l’orchestre est vraiment un personnage qui s’exprime, dit-il. C’est un opéra unique en son genre. La musique est somptueuse et l’orchestration, magnifique ! »

Boucher a déjà interprété le rôle-titre de baryton avec l’Opéra de Montréal, mais cette fois, il endossera le rôle de Golaud, baryton-basse. (« le méchant », dit-il avec malice.) Le baryton français Guillaume Andrieux interprétera Pelléas et la soprano Samantha Jean-Louis, Mélisande. Le spectacle, qui aura lieu le 8 juin à 19 h à la paroisse Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville, met sur scène l’Orchestre de la Francophonie et l’ensemble vocal La Petite Bande de Montréal, sous la direction de Jean-Philippe Tremblay.

Parmi les autres moments phares de l’édition 2018 du Festival Classica, mentionnons Poésie des Exilés avec le Studio de musique ancienne de Montréal, sous la direction d’Andrew McAnerney, qui interprète de la musique de la Renaissance inspirée du livre de Jérémie (le 3 juin à 16 h 30, à l’église unie de Saint-Lambert) et un programme de duos d’amour baroques par la soprano Suzie LeBlanc et le haute-contre Daniel Taylor (3 juin, 20 h, paroisse catholique de Saint-Lambert).

Un autre événement devrait attirer le public : le 2e récital-concours international de mélodies françaises ouvert à tous les chanteurs, sans restriction d’âge ou d’expérience (on peut encore s’inscrire). Le récital, réunissant les cinq finalistes du concours, chacun présentant un choix de cinq mélodies françaises, aura lieu le 10 juin 2018 à 16 h à l’église presbytérienne St. Andrew. Les votes du jury comptent pour 50 % de la note finale, l’autre 50 % venant des votes du public. « Si vous vous qualifiez pour la finale, explique Boucher, vous êtes assuré de remporter un prix. L’année dernière, la gagnante du premier prix était une Française, accompagnée au piano par une amie israélienne. Elles sont reparties avec un prix de 15 000 $. »

Comme le titre de l’édition 2018 du festival l’indique, Schubert sera à l’honneur, avec Puccini, dès le concert inaugural qui aura lieu le 25 mai à 19 h 30 à la basilique Saint-Anne-de-Varennes, puis, le 1er juin, à 19 h, à la paroisse catholique de Saint-Lambert pour le cycle bouleversant du Winterreise interprété par le réputé baryton Russell Braun accompagné au piano par sa femme, la pianiste Carolyn Maule; enfin, un concert Schubert et Schumann – contrastes et contradictions, le 2 juin, à 13 h à l’église presbytérienne St. Andrew, mettra en vedette l’altiste Marina Thibeault et la pianiste Janelle Fung.

Les Rolling Stones ont droit à un hommage double, d’abord avec le spectacle du violoniste Marc Djokic You Can’t Always Get What You Want, le 2 juin à 15 h à l’église unie de Saint-Lambert, une version intimiste de chambre des airs des Stones, puis le concert en plein air Classica Rolling Stones le même soir. « Vous aurez droit à tous leurs grands succès, assure Boucher, avec un orchestre, un groupe rock et un chœur ! »

Adapté à tous les goûts musicaux, le Festival Classica, fête de la musique dans la ville de Saint-Lambert et ses environs (une dizaine de concerts-satellites dans la région de Longueuil, Montréal et la Montérégie), vous offre, au moins pendant quelques merveilleuses semaines ce printemps, cette perspective séduisante : oui, « you can get what you want ».

Pour information concernant l’édition 2018 du Festival Classica, visitez www.festivalclassica.com.

Traduction par Brigitte Objois

 

 

Partager:

A propos de l'auteur

Charles Geyer is a director, producer, composer, playwright, actor, singer, and freelance writer based in New York City. He directed the Evelyn La Quaif Norma for Verismo Opera Association of New Jersey, and the New York premiere of Ray Bradbury’s opera adaptation of Fahrenheit 451. His cabaret musical on the life of silent screen siren Louise Brooks played to acclaim in L.A. He has appeared on Broadway, off-Broadway and regionally. He is an alum of the Commercial Theatre Institute and was on the board of the American National Theatre. He is a graduate of Yale University and attended Harvard's Institute for Advanced Theatre Training. He can be contacted here.

Laissez une réponse

Festival Classica 2018: A Moveable Feast for Every Musical Taste

0

Get down, get casual, get classical – consider this the cultural mantra for the city of Saint-Lambert this spring from May 25 through June 16, as the eighth annual edition of Festival Classica rolls out with a dazzling and eclectic array of rhythms and sonorities. The festival title promises everything “from Schubert to the Stones.” Yes, that’s Franz Schubert; and yes, that’s the Rolling Stones.

Talk about something for everyone.

Founder and artistic director Marc Boucher is proud of the annual event’s enormous popularity and dizzying growth over a relatively short span. The festival was conceived in no less august a setting than the Palace of Versailles. Attending a concert at the Centre de Musique Baroque in Versailles’s Royal Chapel, Boucher saw an analogy between “the proximity of all these small theaters in Versailles and the uninterrupted schedule of concerts” and what he thought could be accomplished amid the density and viability of venues in his native city of Saint-Lambert.

An Opus Award-winning baritone, Boucher pitched the festival idea to community and civic leaders in 2008. Its first incarnation followed in 2011. Since then, Festival Classica has become, as Boucher’s puts it, “one of the most important urban festivals dedicated to classical music in North America.” This year, it expects to attract some 100,000 music lovers with 60 events ranging from the intimate to the grand and the chamber to the symphonic, including at least six major vocal-music offerings by international artists.

Boucher himself will be performing the bass-baritone roles in two exquisite devotional works performed on a program entitled Sacred Music and Discoveries (June 5, 7 p.m. at the Église Sainte-Famille). The evening couples Mozart’s Coronation Mass with the North American premiere of Christ’s Resurrection (Christi Auferstehung), a 12-movement oratorio by Sigismund Neukomm, the prolific and unfairly neglected Austrian composer who was a student and champion of Haydn. On the podium will be the renowned French conductor Jean-Claude Malgoire.

As 2018 marks the 100th anniversary of the death of Claude Debussy, Boucher is also planning a concert presentation of Pelléas et Mélisande, “the first time in opera that the orchestra is really a speaking character,” in Boucher’s view. “It’s a unique opera. The music is sumptuous, and the orchestration – gorgeous!”

Boucher has previously performed the high-baritone title role with the Opéra de Montréal, but this time he will take on the bass-baritone role of Golaud. (“The bad guy,” he remarks with relish.) French baritone Guillaume Andrieux sings Pelléas and Canadian soprano Samantha Louis-Jean sings Mélisande. The performance, June 8 at 7 p.m. in the Paroisse Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville, will feature the Orchestre de la Francophonie and the La Petite Bande de Montréal vocal ensemble conducted by Jean-Philippe Tremblay.

Other vocal highlights of Festival Classica 2018 include Poetry of the Exiles, with the Studio de musique ancienne de Montréal under Andrew McAnerney performing Renaissance music inspired by the Book of Lamentations (June 3, 4:30 p.m. at St. Lambert United Church), and a program of baroque love duets performed by soprano Suzie LeBlanc and countertenor Daniel Taylor (June 3, 8 p.m. at the Paroisse catholique de Saint-Lambert).

A sure crowd-wowing highlight will be the second annual International Recital Competition of French Art Songs. Welcoming singers of any age or stage of career (registration is still open), the competition itself (June 10, 4 p.m. at Saint-Lambert’s St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church) will feature five finalists, each presenting a cycle of five French-language art songs. The final order will depend 50-50 on the votes of a panel of professional judges and the audience.

“If you’re chosen for the final competition,” Boucher explains, “you are sure to win something. Last year, the [first-prize] winner was a lady from France, along with a pianist friend from Israel. They came together and went home with $15,000.”

As for the titular Schubert component of Festival Classica 2018, programs include an inaugural Schubert and Puccini event (May 25, 7:30 p.m. at the Basilique Sainte-Anne-de-Varennes); a performance of Schubert’s exquisite Winterreise cycle (June 1, 7 p.m. at the Paroisse catholique de Saint-Lambert) by acclaimed baritone Russell Braun, accompanied by his wife, pianist Carolyn Maule; and a concert titled Schubert and Schumann: Contrasts and Contradictions (June 2, 1 p.m. at St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church), performed by violist Marina Thibeault and pianist Janelle Fung.

The Rolling Stones get a double homage, first with violinist Marc Djokic’s You Can’t Always Get What You Want show (June 2, 3 p.m. at St. Lambert United Church), which offers the Stones with chamber intimacy; and in the outdoor Classica Rock Stones concert that evening. “All the hits,” promises Boucher, “performed by an orchestra, and a rock band, and all the lyrics given to the choir!”

Catering to virtually every musical taste, Festival Classica’s city-wide musical feast in and around Saint-Lambert (and there are ten “satellite” concerts in the Longueuil area, Montreal, and the Montérégie region) holds out the beguiling prospect that, at least for a few glorious weeks this spring, you can get what you want.

For information about Festival Classica 2018 go to www.festivalclassica.com.

 

Share:

About Author

Charles Geyer is a director, producer, composer, playwright, actor, singer, and freelance writer based in New York City. He directed the Evelyn La Quaif Norma for Verismo Opera Association of New Jersey, and the New York premiere of Ray Bradbury’s opera adaptation of Fahrenheit 451. His cabaret musical on the life of silent screen siren Louise Brooks played to acclaim in L.A. He has appeared on Broadway, off-Broadway and regionally. He is an alum of the Commercial Theatre Institute and was on the board of the American National Theatre. He is a graduate of Yale University and attended Harvard's Institute for Advanced Theatre Training. He can be contacted here.

Leave A Reply